Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Tennis

Italian Open: Start date, how to watch, past winners, history & more

It is time for the last WTA and ATP 1000 event of the clay-court season, with the Italian Open taking centre stage in Rome this week.

Carlos Alcaraz has withdrawn from the men's event as he aims to get fully fit before the season's second Grand Slam in Paris, while Andy Murray will also miss out.

There is yet again a strong field in the women's competition, though, with the likes of Iga Swiatek, Aryna Sabalenka and Coco Gauff set to battle it out for the title.

Italian Open Dates

Qualifying for the Italian Open has already begun, but the main draw starts on Wednesday 8th May.

The women's singles final is first up on Saturday 18th May, with the men's final taking place a day later on Sunday 19th May.

Italian Open Venue

The clay-court event will once again take place at the Foro Italico - an iconic sports complex on the slopes of Monte Mario in Rome, Italy.

The venue opened back in 1932 and has two iconic courts with a capacity of more than 10,000.

Italian Open How to watch

All Italian Open matches will be available to watch live on bet365's Live Streaming Service.

Sky Sports Tennis and Sky Sports Main Event will also be showing selected men's and women's Italian Open matches this year.

Italian Open Favourites

Both the men's and women's Italian Open tournaments are set to be fiercely competitive this season.

A hip injury means Jannik Sinner will not get to play the event in his home country during a terrific 2024 campaign, while Alcaraz's absence opens up the draw.

Novak Djokovic, the tournament's top seed, is the standout name and he has some European clay-court experience under his belt this year following his run to the semi-finals of the Monte-Carlo Masters in April.

Daniil Medvedev is the men's defending champion, but was uninspiring at both the Monte Carlo Masters and the Madrid Open and he could struggle this time around.

Fourth seed Andrey Rublev, meanwhile, is fresh from winning the Madrid Open and is worth keeping an eye on.

As for the women's competition, Iga Swiatek will be bursting with confidence ahead of this WTA 1000 event.

The Pole took down Aryna Sabalenka in three sets to win the Madrid Open on Saturday and was also crowned Indian Wells champion in March.

She is finding her rhythm again and is always a danger on clay.

Last year's winner Elena Rybakina could also pose a threat following her triumph at the Stuttgart Open and run to the semi-finals of the Madrid Open in the last few weeks.

Italian Open History

Having been founded back in 1930, the Italian Open remains one of the staples of the tennis calendar.

The event began in Milan before moving to Rome's Foro Italico in 1935 and it was formerly part of the Grand Prix Tennis Tour but became a combined ATP and WTA event back in 2011.

And more recently in 2023, the length of the Italian Open was extended to 12 days like other ATP Masters 1000 events such as the Miami Open and Indian Wells.

Italian Open Past Winners

There have been numerous big-name winners of the Italian Open in the Open era and in the men's event Rafael Nadal remains the most successful player with 10 titles to his name.

The veteran Spaniard last won the outdoor clay-court tournament back in 2021 with Djokovic collecting his sixth title in 2022.

There was a surprise at last year's men's tournament with Medvedev winning the event for the first time following a 7-5 7-5 defeat of Holger Rune in the final.

Other previous winners of the men's tournament include Murray and Alexander Zverev, who were champions in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

Bjorn Borg is the youngest-ever winner of the men's Italian Open, having been just 17 years, 11 months and two days old when he prevailed in 1974.

Chris Evert holds the record for most title wins (5) and most final appearances (7) in the women's event - her last title triumph came in 1982.

Since then, a handful of other players have gone on to win the women's Italian Open on more than one occasion, including Maria Sharapova, Serena Williams (4 titles), Elina Svitolina and Swiatek.

Last year it was former Wimbledon winner Rybakina who came out on top, beating Anhelina Kalinina, who was forced to retire in the second set when losing 6-4 1-0.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.