Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. IPL

IPL: Dates, teams, venues, history & more

The Indian Premier League is the world's most prestigious Twenty20 franchise tournament and the glitz and glamour of the event is matched by the quality of cricket on the field.

Since its inaugural season in 2008, the IPL has showcased the talents of top T20 players from around the globe and propelled a new generation of Indian cricketers to stardom. 

IPL dates

The Indian Premier League is held each year in India during the months of March, April and May. 

The 2024 IPL will begin on Friday 22nd March and the final will be held on Sunday 26th May, allowing players a brief rest before the start of June's T20 World Cup in the West Indies and United States. 

IPL times

Most of the matches in the 2024 IPL will start at 7.30pm Indian time, which is 2pm in the UK and Ireland. Twenty20 games tend to last between three and four hours.

IPL venues

Each of the 10 franchises has their own home ground and some of the most iconic cricket stadiums in India play host to IPL matches each season. 

Champions Chennai Super Kings play at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Kolkata Knight Riders are based at Eden Gardens and Gujarat Titans welcome visiting teams to the 132,000-capacity Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which was the venue for the 2022 and 2023 finals. 

In 2023 Rajasthan Royals divided their home fixtures between Jaipur and Guwahati while Punjab Kings played games in Mohali and Dharamshala.

IPL how to watch

Sky Sports are expected to win the rights to broadcast the 2024 IPL in the UK, so fans should be able to watch all 74 league and play-off matches on Sky Sports Cricket, Sky Sports Main Event or Sky Sports Mix.

IPL history

The 2024 Indian Premier League will be the 17th edition of the T20 franchise league. 

It was first held in 2008 when Rajasthan Royals, inspired by Australia legend Shane Warne, lifted the trophy. 

The 2009 tournament was held in South Africa and Dubai staged the IPL finals in 2020 and 2021, but the tournament has taken place in India in the last two years.

In the 2023 final Chennai Super Kings beat 2022 winners Gujarat Titans by five wickets on the DLS method to claim the title for the fifth time.

Chennai, who have also been runners-up five times, are the joint-most successful team in IPL history along with Mumbai Indians, while Gujarat have reached the final in their first two seasons as a franchise.

Kolkata Knight Riders, champions in 2012 and 2014, are the only other team to have won more than one IPL title, while the now-defunct Deccan Chargers lifted the trophy in 2009 and Sunrisers Hyderabad won the 2016 edition.

IPL format

The Indian Premier League was expanded to 10 teams in 2022, with the franchises split into two groups for the league stage of the competition. 

Under the current format, each franchise plays 14 league fixtures, facing the other four teams in their group once and the five teams in the other group twice, once at home and once away. 

The top four teams in the league table qualify for the end-of-season play-offs. 

The franchises select their squads in lucrative pre-season player auctions and they are permitted to pick a maximum of four overseas players in their matchday XI.

Any odds displayed were correct at the time of writing and are subject to fluctuation.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.