Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB
  2. World Series

MLB World Series Winners By Year

A complete list of every team to win the MLB World Series, from the Boston Americans in 1903 to the Texas Rangers in 2023.

The MLB World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball (MLB) in the United States and Canada. It has been contested since 1903 between the champion teams of the American League (AL) and the National League (NL). The winner of the World Series championship is determined through a best-of-seven playoff, and the winning team is awarded the Commissioner's Trophy.

World Series Winners

2023Texas Rangers
2022Houston Astros
2021Atlanta Braves
2020Los Angeles Dodgers
2019Washington Nationals
2018Boston Red Sox
2017Houston Astros
2016Chicago Cubs
2015Kansas City Royals
2014San Francisco Giants
2013Boston Red Sox
2012San Francisco Giants
2011St. Louis Cardinals
2010San Francisco Giants
2009New York Yankees
2008Philadelphia Phillies
2007Boston Red Sox
2006St. Louis Cardinals
2005Chicago White Sox
2004Boston Red Sox
2003Florida Marlins
2002Anaheim Angels
2001Arizona Diamondbacks
2000New York Yankees
1999New York Yankees
1998New York Yankees
1997Florida Marlins
1996New York Yankees
1995Atlanta Braves
1994*No World Series
1993Toronto Blue Jays 
1992Toronto Blue Jays 
1991Minnesota Twins
1990Cincinnati Reds
1989Oakland Athletics
1988Los Angeles Dodgers
1987Minnesota Twins
1986New York Mets
1985Kansas City
1984Detroit Tigers
1983Baltimore Orioles
1982St. Louis Cardinals
1981Los Angeles Dodgers
1980Philadelphia Phillies
1979Pittsburgh Pirates 
1978New York Yankees
1977New York Yankees
1976Cincinnati Reds
1975Cincinnati Reds
1974Oakland Athletics
1973Oakland Athletics
1972Oakland Athletics
1971Pittsburgh Pirates
1970Baltimore Orioles
1969New York Mets
1968Detroit Tigers
1967St. Louis Cardinals
1966Baltimore Orioles
1965Los Angeles Dodgers
1964St. Louis Cardinals
1963Los Angeles Dodgers
1962New York Yankees
1961New York Yankees
1960Pittsburgh Pirates
1959Los Angeles Dodgers
1958New York Yankees
1957Milwaukee Braves
1956New York Yankees
1955Brooklyn Dodgers
1954New York Giants
1953New York Yankees
1952New York Yankees
1951New York Yankees
1950New York Yankees
1949New York Yankees
1948Cleveland Indians
1947New York Yankees
1946St. Louis Cardinals
1945Detroit Tigers
1944St. Louis Cardinals
1943New York Yankees
1942St. Louis Cardinals
1941New York Yankees
1940Cincinnati Reds
1939New York Yankees
1938New York Yankees
1937New York Yankees
1936New York Yankees
1935Detroit Tigers
1934St. Louis Cardinals
1933New York Giants
1932New York Yankees
1931St. Louis Cardinals
1930Philadelphia Athletics
1929Philadelphia Athletics
1928New York Yankees
1927New York Yankees
1926St. Louis Cardinals
1925Pittsburgh Pirates
1924Washington Senators
1923New York Yankees
1922New York Giants
1921New York Giants
1920Cleveland Indians
1919Cincinnati Reds
1918Boston Red Sox 
1917Chicago White Sox
1916Boston Red Sox
1915Boston Red Sox
1914Boston Braves
1913Philadelphia Athletics
1912Boston Red Sox
1911Philadelphia Athletics
1910Philadelphia Athletics
1909Pittsburgh Pirates
1908Chicago Cubs
1907Chicago Cubs
1906Chicago White Sox
1905New York Giants
1904**No World Series
1903Boston Americans

*No World Series was held in 1994 because of an ongoing strike by the players.

**No World Series was held in 1904 because the owner of the National League Champions (New York Giants), refused to allow his team to play the “Inferior” American League Champions (Boston Americans).

Most World Series wins by team

The New York Yankees have won the most MLB World Series championships in history, with 27. The St. Louis Cardinals are second with 11, and the Boston Red Sox are third with 9.

Here is a list of the top 10 teams with the most MLB World Series wins:

  1. New York Yankees (27)
  2. St. Louis Cardinals (11)
  3. Boston Red Sox (9)
  4. Oakland Athletics (9)
  5. San Francisco Giants (8)
  6. Los Angeles Dodgers (7)
  7. Cincinnati Reds (5)
  8. Pittsburgh Pirates (5)
  9. Detroit Tigers (4)
  10. Atlanta Braves (4)

Read more about the most unlikely MLB World Series winners.

Most World Series wins by player

Yogi Berra has won the most World Series championships in MLB history, with 10. Berra played for the New York Yankees from 1946 to 1965, and he was a key member of their legendary dynasty that won 14 World Series championships in 20 years.

Here is a list of the top 10 players with the most MLB World Series wins:

  1. Yogi Berra (10)
  2. Joe DiMaggio (9)
  3. Bill Dickey (8)
  4. Phil Rizzuto (8)
  5. Frankie Crosetti (8)
  6. Lou Gehrig (8)
  7. Hank Bauer (7)
  8. Mickey Mantle (7)
  9. Babe Ruth (7)
  10. Tommy Henrich (7)

Most World Series appearances by team

The New York Yankees have the most World Series appearances of any team in Major League Baseball, with 40. 

Here is a list of the top 10 teams with the most World Series appearances:

  1. New York Yankees (40)
  2. Los Angeles Dodgers (25)
  3. San Francisco Giants (23)
  4. St. Louis Cardinals (19)
  5. Atlanta Braves (18)
  6. Chicago Cubs (17)
  7. Oakland Athletics (15)
  8. Boston Red Sox (14)
  9. Detroit Tigers (11)
  10. Cincinnati Reds (10)

Read here for all you need to know about the MLB World Series.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.