Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB
  2. World Series

World Series MVP: Winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

We covered all you need to know about MLB's World Series MVP Award, including past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

Who won World Series MVP in 2023?

Texas Rangers shortstop Corey Seager won the World Series MVP award in 2023 thanks to hitting three home runs and six RBI.

World Series MVP Winners

2023Corey SeagerTexas Rangers
2022Jeremy PeñaHouston Astros
2021Jorge SolerAtlanta Braves
2020Corey SeagerLos Angeles Dodgers
2019Stephen StrasburgWashington Nationals
2018Steve PearceBoston Red Sox
2017George SpringerHouston Astros
2016Ben ZobristChicago Cubs
2015Salvador PérezKansas City Royals
2014Madison BumgarnerSan Francisco Giants
2013David OrtizBoston Red Sox
2012Pablo SandovalSan Francisco Giants
2011David FreeseSt. Louis Cardinals
2010Edgar RenteríaSan Francisco Giants
2009Hideki MatsuiNew York Yankees
2008Cole HamelsPhiladelphia Phillies
2007Mike LowellBoston Red Sox
2006David EcksteinSt. Louis Cardinals
2005Jermaine DyeChicago White Sox
2004Manny RamírezBoston Red Sox
2003Josh BeckettFlorida Marlins
2002Troy GlausAnaheim Angels
2001Randy Johnson & Curt SchillingArizona Diamondbacks
2000Derek JeterNew York Yankees
1999Mariano RiveraNew York Yankees
1998Scott BrosiusNew York Yankees
1997Liván HernándezFlorida Marlins
1996John WettelandNew York Yankees
1995Tom GlavineAtlanta Braves
1994No World Series 
1993Paul MolitorToronto Blue Jays
1992Pat BordersToronto Blue Jays
1991Jack MorrisMinnesota Twins
1990José RijoCincinnati Reds
1989Dave StewartOakland Athletics
1988Orel HershiserLos Angeles Dodgers
1987Frank ViolaMinnesota Twins
1986Ray KnightNew York Mets
1985Bret SaberhagenKansas City Royals
1984Alan TrammellDetroit Tigers
1983Rick DempseyBaltimore Orioles
1982Darrell PorterSt. Louis Cardinals
1981Ron Cey, Pedro Guerrero & Steve YeagerLos Angeles Dodgers
1980Mike SchmidtPhiladelphia Phillies
1979Willie StargellPittsburgh Pirates
1978Bucky DentNew York Yankees
1977Reggie JacksonNew York Yankees
1976Johnny BenchCincinnati Reds
1975Pete RoseCincinnati Reds
1974Rollie FingersOakland Athletics
1973Reggie JacksonOakland Athletics
1972Gene TenaceOakland Athletics
1971Roberto ClementePittsburgh Pirates
1970Brooks RobinsonBaltimore Orioles
1969Donn ClendenonNew York Mets
1968Mickey LolichDetroit Tigers
1967Bob GibsonSt. Louis Cardinals
1966Frank RobinsonBaltimore Orioles
1965Sandy KoufaxLos Angeles Dodgers
1964Bob GibsonSt. Louis Cardinals
1963Sandy KoufaxLos Angeles Dodgers
1962Ralph TerryNew York Yankees
1961Whitey FordNew York Yankees
1960Bobby RichardsonNew York Yankees
1959Larry SherryLos Angeles Dodgers
1958Bob TurleyNew York Yankees
1957Lew BurdetteMilwaukee Braves
1956Don LarsenNew York Yankees
1955Johnny PodresBrooklyn Dodgers

MLB World Series MVP announcement

Major League Baseball announced the winner of its annual World Series MVP Award after the final game of each year's World Series as part of the postgame celebration, even in the rare occasion that a player on the losing team wins the award (which has only happened once, when Bobby Richardson of the New York Yankees won it in 1960 in a losing effort to the Pittsburgh Pirates).

MLB World Series MVP voting

A committee of journalists and baseball officials present for at least the final game of the World Series vote for the award. The committee considers factors including players' statistical performances in the series, their impact in clutch moments, and their impact on the series.

MLB World Series MVP trophy

In 2017, MLB renamed the World Series MVP award after legendary outfielder Willie Mays. The trophy features a bronze sculpture of Mays making 'The Catch' during the 1954 World Series, an image still prominent in baseball history.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.