Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Darts

World Grand Prix: Dates, schedules, history and Darts odds

The World Grand Prix is one of the biggest events on the PDC Tour, when all the big names battle it out at the oche.

The tournament is one of the most iconic and is a different format to the other televised events, as players must start AND finish with a double.

The World Grand Prix started in 1998 and although the format has changed through the years, it is one of the most popular tournaments on the circuit.

The prize money has increased to £600,000, with £120,000 given to the winner and £60,000 awarded to the runner-up from 2022.

WhatWorld Grand Prix
WhereMorningside Arena, Leicester
WhenMonday, 2nd October to Sunday, 8th October 2023
How to watchSky Sports

When is the World Grand Prix?

The 2023 edition of the tournament will begin on Monday, 2nd October and runs through to Sunday, 8th October.

Where is the World Grand Prix?

The Morningside Arena in Leicester has been the host venue since 2021, with the stadium having a 3,000-spectator seating capacity.

World Grand Prix Schedules

The event takes place over seven days and since 2000, has been a straight knockout tournament, with each set being contested over three legs.

The World Grand Prix first round is a best-of-three sets contest, with the second round and quarter finals then moving to best-of-five sets.

When we get to the last four, it is the best-of-seven sets and the winner in the final will be the first person to reach five sets in a best-of-nine clash.

The field consists of 32 players, who are the top 16 in the PDC Order of Merit as well as 16 from the Pro Tour Order of Merit.

World Grand Prix History

As with many events during his illustrious career, Phil Taylor dominated this tournament, having won the inaugural event in 1998.

‘The Power’ went on to win the title on no fewer than 11 occasions, with his last World Grand Prix success coming in 2013.

Since Taylor hung up his darts, Michael van Gerwen has dominated the event – winning six times in total, including victory in the 2022 tournament.

As well as his six victories, the Dutchman has also lost in the final on one occasion – beaten by Scotland’s Robert Thornton in 2015. 

MVG also has the highest average in the tournament’s history, with a 99.46 average during the 2016 event.

Wales has produced two of the last three winners of the World Grand Prix, with Gerwyn Price victorious in 2020 and Jonny Clayton crowned the champion in 2021, when he beat compatriot Price in the final.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.