Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe: Dates, history & how to watch

The Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe has long been regarded as Europe's most prestigious all-aged Flat race, a monument to generational champions and the cream of the thoroughbred crop.

The autumn contest is now more than a century old and it remains the standard-bearer as horses from the likes of France, Britain, Ireland, Germany and Japan converge in Paris for the right to win the Arc and take a page in history.

We take a closer look at the Paris-Longchamp centrepiece.

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe date

The Arc traditionally takes place on the first Sunday in October, with the 2024 renewal set to be staged on 6th October.

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe venue

The race takes place at Paris-Longchamp racecourse on the outskirts of the French capital. The venue is located on the Route des Tribunes at the Bois de Boulogne and it boasts multiple tracks, ranging in length from five-furlongs to two-miles.

Longchamp, recently redeveloped, has capacity for 50,000 spectators and it is home to more than half of the Group 1 races run in France annually.

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe how to watch

Like with all racing, the Arc is available on bet365's Sports Live Streaming platform.

In Britain, there is currently terrestrial coverage from ITV Racing, while Sky Sports Racing will also offer full live coverage of every race across the two-day Arc meeting at Longchamp.

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe most successful trainer

Legendary French trainer Andre Fabre has won the Arc an unmatched eight times. His wins came with Trempolino (1987), Subotica (1992), Carnegie (1994), Peintre Celebre (1997), Sagamix (1998), Hurricane Run (2005), Rail Link (2006) and Waldgeist (2019).

John Gosden is the modern-day standard setter for UK trainers with three wins via Golden Horn (2015) and Enable (2017, 2018).

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe most successful jockey

Ever the man for the big occasion, no jockey has ridden more Arc winners than Frankie Dettori's tally of six. The iconic Italian has triumphed with Lammtarra (1995), Sakhee (2001), Marienbard (2002), Golden Horn (2015) and Enable (2017, 2018).

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe most successful horses

There have been eight repeat winners of the Arc but, as yet, no horse has ever managed to win a third time.

Ksar (1921, 1922) won the first two runnings, while superstar filly Enable (2017, 2018) is one of only two repeat winners this century, joining the outstanding French filly Treve, who scored for Criquette Head in 2013 and 2014.

Enable and Dettori finished second to Waldgeist in 2019, having led inside the final furlong on ground that was heavier than desired, while in 2020 she finished an honourable sixth behind Sottsass in what proved to be the final start of her illustrious career.

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe recent winners

Here are the most recent winners of the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe.

YearHorse Jockey Trainer
2012SolemiaOlivier PeslierCarlos Laffon-Parias
2013TreveThierry JarnetCriquette Head
2014TreveThierry JarnetCriquette Head
2015Golden HornFrankie DettoriJohn Gosden
2016FoundRyan MooreAidan O'Brien
2017EnableFrankie DettoriJohn Gosden
2018EnableFrankie DettoriJohn Gosden
2019WaldgeistPierre-Charles BoudotAndre Fabre
2020SottsassCristian DemuroJean-Claude Rouget
2021Torquator TassoRene PiechulekGestut Auenquelle
2022AlpinistaLuke MorrisSir Mark Prescott 
2023Ace ImpactCristian DemuroJean-Claude Rouget
Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe 2024

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.