Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Darts
  2. PDC Darts

World Series of Darts: Dates, schedule, players, history & more

The World Series of Darts is one of the standout events in the darts calendar and takes the PDC action around the world, pitting the best local stars against the biggest names in the sport.

After the runaway success of the 2023 tournament, the 2024 series is set to be the biggest yet.

Here's everything you need to know about the PDC's World Series of Darts...

World Series of Darts date

The World Series of Darts is set to take place across the calendar year of 2024, with the first event, the Bahrain Masters, taking place on January 18th-19th, before culminating in the finals that are due to be held on September 13th-15th at the AFAS Live Arena, Amsterdam.

World Series of Darts venues

The World Series of Darts is a series of events held around the world, pitting local talents against the top players in the PDC. The 2024 Series is set to comprise seven rounds on four continents, plus the Finals.

The first event is scheduled to be the Bahrain Darts Masters at the home of the Formula 1 Grand Prix, Bahrain International Circuit, and takes place on January 18th and 19th, 2024.

The second event will be the Dutch Masters in Maaspoort, Den Bosch in the Netherlands on January 26th-27th.

There is then a bit of a break from the competition before the tungsten titans go into combat at the Hulu Theatre in New York City for the US Masters from May 31st to June 2nd.

Less than a week later, Forum Copenhagen in Denmark hosts round four, the Nordic Masters, on the June 7th & 8th before moving to Gliwice for the Polish Masters at the Prezero Arena.

Australasia is the next stop with the Australian Masters on August 9 & 10 taking place at WIN Entertainment Centre, Wollongon before a hop to the Globox Arena, Hamilton for the New Zealand Masters on August 16th & 17th.

The World Series of Darts Finals will be held at AFAS Live in Amsterdam on September 13th-15th.

How to watch the World Series of Darts

The World Series of Darts events will be streamed at bet365 and shown on ITV Sport, DAZN and Viaplay throughout the course of 2024, with providers differing by the country in which the viewer is watching.

How many events are there at the World Series of Darts?

There are eight World Series of Darts believed to be incoming for the 2024 season, with seven stand alone events culminating in the World Series of Darts Finals.

Who won the last World Series of Darts?

The 2023 World Series of Darts culminated in the World Series of Darts Finals, which took place in Amsterdam.

Michael van Gerwen sent the crowd home happy as the Dutchman beat Nathan Aspinall 11-4 in the final.

The Green Machine had previously been victorious in the US Masters, beating Jeff Smith 8-0 in that final, and in the Poland Masters, where he got the better of Dimitri Van den Bergh 8-3.

World Series of Darts Finals qualification

Each event of the World Series of Darts gives qualifying points that add up to help players qualify for the World Series of Darts Finals.

Twelve points go to the winner of an event, eight to the runner-up, five to a semi-finalist, three for reaching the last eight and one for a first-round departure.

The top eight players with the most points qualify automatically for the Finals while the other eight are made up of a mix of invited players by the PDC and qualifiers.

The qualifier for the World Series of Darts Finals is set to take place in the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes on 23rd August.

World Series of Darts favourite

New World Champion Luke Humphries is 2/1 favourite to kick off the defence of his world number one status with victory in the Bahrain Masters.

His Ally Pally final opponent, teenage sensation Luke Littler, is a 7/2 chance to triumph in Sakhir, the same as reigning World Series of Darts champion Michael van Gerwen. 

History of the World Series of Darts

The World Series of Darts began in 2013 as a way of expanding the sport around the globe.

The first year saw just two events, the Dubai Masters and Sydney Masters. 

However, over the years the PDC has added more venues and events to the roster, holding events in Singapore, Australia, Japan, Austria and the United States, among many more.

The addition of the World Series of Darts Finals came in 2015, with the Braehead Arena in Glasgow, Scotland, the first venue.

Since then the finals have been held in the Salzburgarena, Salzburg, before transferring to its current home in AFAS Live, Amsterdam.

Who is the most successful player in World Series of Darts history?

Michael van Gerwen is the most successful player in World Series of Darts history, winning the FInals on five occasions.

MvG took home the title in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2023 and is also the most successful player in general World Series of Darts events.

Van Gerwen has won 20 events and finished as runner-up on eight other occasions. Phil Taylor is the only other player to reach 10 or more finals.

Any odds displayed were correct at the time of writing and are subject to fluctuation.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.