Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Darts

World Cup of Darts: Start date, format, how to watch and latest odds

The World Cup of Darts is set to return in June 2024 with Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton hoping to retain the trophy for Wales following their emphatic final success over Scotland in 2023.

The Welsh pair reigned supreme in the unique team event, capturing the crown for a second time - beating off opposition from 39 other countries.

The 2023 staging of the competition was the first time that 40 nations were included, and also the first time that the tournament was solely played out in doubles format.

Here's everything you need to know about the upcoming 2024 event.

World Cup of Darts date

The World Cup of Darts takes place from Thursday 27th June to Sunday 30th June 2024.

The event is a key part of the PDC’s summer schedule.

World Cup of Darts venue

The World Cup of Darts will return to Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle in 2024 - the same venue which hosted the competition on five occasions previously.

The tournament has taken place in Germany in all but two of its 12 editions, with the first event in 2010 taking place in England and the 2020 version in Salzburg, Austria.

How to watch the World Cup of Darts and TV channel

The World Cup of Darts will be screened live on Sky Sports Arena and Sky Sports Main Event.

World Cup of Darts history

This will be the 14th staging of the competition since its inception in 2010. 

The Netherlands duo of Co Stompe and Raymond van Barneveld beat Wales 4-2 in the first ever final, whilst Aussie pair Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock lifted the trophy two years ago before Wales captured the coveted crown in June 2023.

How often is the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts takes place annually, usually in June.

World Cup of Darts previous winners

Both England and Netherlands have won the World Cup of Darts on four occasions, more than any other nation.

However, after the pair’s early successes in which they shared the first eight tournaments between them, neither country has won any of the last four editions.

England have reached six finals, while the Netherlands have managed to make five. Scotland are next on the list of most successful nations with five finals appearances and two victories.

Heta and Whitlock defeated Wales in Frankfurt in 2022 and Scottish duo Peter Wright and John Henderson took home the trophy after beating Austria 3-1 in the 2021 final.

The only other side to win the World Cup of Darts are Wales, for whom Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton got the better of England in 2020, before repeating their heroics against Wright and Gary Anderson in 2023.

World Cup of Darts seeded teams

The top four nations based on combined Order of Merit rankings will be seeded to the second round, while the next 12 nations will be seeded in the group stage.

How are the pairs picked?

The PDC selects the two players who will make up each country's pair. 

Typically they are the two highest ranked players from that nation on the PDC Order of Merit, but there can on occasion be exceptions.

World Cup of Darts prize money

The prize money for the 2024 tournament has been confirmed, with a total pot of £450,000 to be won.





Semi-final losers


Quarter-final losers


Last-16 losers


Second in group


Third in group


World Cup of Darts confirmed teams

Seeds 1-4 - through to Round Two

(1) England - Luke Humphries, Michael Smith
(2) Wales - Gerwyn Price, Jonny Clayton
(3) Netherlands - Michael van Gerwen, Danny Noppert
(4) Scotland - Peter Wright, Gary Anderson

Seeds 5-16 - seeded for Group Stage

(5) Belgium - Dimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts
(6) Northern Ireland - Josh Rock, Brendan Dolan
(7) Germany - Martin Schindler, Gabriel Clemens
(8) Australia - Damon Heta, Simon Whitlock
(9) Republic of Ireland - William O'Connor, Keane Barry
(10) Austria - Rowby-John Rodriguez, Mensur Suljovic
(11) Poland - Krzysztof Ratajski, Radek Szaganski
(12) Czechia - Adam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek
(13) Croatia - Boris Krcmar, Romeo Grbavac
(14) France - Jacques Labre, Thibault Tricole
(15) Sweden - Jeffrey de Graaf, Oskar Lukasiak
(16) USA - Danny Lauby, Jules van Dongen

Non-seeded nations

Bahrain - Basem Mahmood, Duda Durra
Canada - Matt Campbell, David Cameron
China - Xiaochen Zong, Chengan Liu
Chinese Taipei - Teng-Lieh Pupo, An-Sheng Lu
Denmark - Benjamin Reus, Claus Bendix Nielsen
Finland - Marko Kantele, Teemu Harju
Gibraltar - Justin Hewitt, Craig Galliano
Guyana - Norman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald
Hong Kong - Lok Yin Lee, Man Lok Leung
Hungary - Gabor Jagicza, Nandor Major
Iceland - Arngrimur Olafsson, Petur Gudmundsson 
Italy - Michele Turetta, Massimo Dalla Rosa
Japan - Tomoya Goto, Ryusei Azemoto
Latvia - Madars Razma, Valters Melderis
Lithuania - Darius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas
Malaysia - Siik Hwang Wong, Mohamad Nasir
New Zealand - Haupai Puha, Ben Robb
Norway - Cor Dekker, Hakon Bjorge Helling
Philippines - Christian Perez, Alexis Toylo
Portugal - Jose de Sousa, David Gomes
Singapore - Paul Lim, Harith Lim
South Africa - Johan Geldenhuys, Cameron Carolissen
Spain - Jose Justicia, Jesus Noguera
Switzerland - Stefan Bellmont, Bruno Stockli

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.