Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. International Cricket

Women's T20 World Cup: Dates, schedule, history & key info

The Women's T20 World Cup is an international competition which sees the world's best teams battle it out in the shortest format of the game.

The 2024 edition will be the ninth time the tournament has been played, with Australia the defending champions following their victory in South Africa in 2023.

Ten teams will take part in the 2024 competition, with hosts Bangladesh joined by seven automatic qualifiers - England, Australia, India, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand and West Indies.

The line-up will be completed by two qualifiers, with the teams battling it out over 23 matches to see who lifts the trophy.

The format sees the ten teams split into two groups of five, with the top two in both pools moving through to the semi-finals and the winners of those two matches then meeting in the final.

WhatWomen's T20 World Cup
WhenSeptember - October 2024
How to watchSky Sports Cricket

When is the Women's T20 World Cup?

The Women's T20 World Cup will be played in Bangladesh for the second time and will start in September 2024.

The winners will be crowned in October 2024, with Australia looking to lift the trophy for a fourth consecutive time.

Where is the Women's T20 World Cup?

Bangladesh will host their second Women's T20 World Cup, having previously held the tournament in 2014, as well as the men’s equivalent in the same year.

The venues are yet to be confirmed for the tournament, but the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur is being tipped to host the final once again.

The venue has a capacity of 25,400 and hosted the 2014 showpiece, when Australia beat England by six wickets in the final.

Can I watch the Women's T20 World Cup?

The Women's T20 World Cup is set to be shown on Sky Sports in the UK, having aired both the 2023 and 2020 tournaments.

In early 2023, the subscription broadcaster renewed their deal with the ICC, which means they are able to show ICC Cricket World Cups and ICC T20 World Cups in the men’s and women’s games through to the end of 2031.

How many times has the Women's T20 World Cup taken place?

The 2024 Women's T20 World Cup will be the ninth time the competition has been staged, with the inaugural event taking place in England in 2009.

There have been seven hosts overall, with Bangladesh the second nation to host for a second time, following the West Indies in 2010 and 2018.

The latest edition took place in 2023, when Australia beat hosts South Africa in the final, with the Aussies collecting the $1million winner’s cheque.

Who has won the Women's T20 World Cup on the most occasions?

Australia have dominated the shortest-format of the international game, winning the T20 World Cup on no fewer than six occasions.

The current world champions won the tournament three times in a row - between 2010 and 2014 - before collecting the trophy again in 2018.

Australia retained their title on home soil in 2020, when they beat India in the final, before making it three in a row in South Africa in 2023.

There have only been two other winners of the women’s international T20 tournament in the eight editions to date - England and West Indies.

England hosted and won the first event in 2009, beating New Zealand in the final, and have been runners-up on three occasions.

The Windies won their only title in India in 2016, with Hayley Matthews smashing 66 from 45 balls to help them beat the Aussies by eight wickets in Kolkata.

New Zealand have twice been beaten in the final, while India and South Africa are the only other two teams to make the showpiece finale.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.