Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Darts

UK Open Darts: Start date, schedule, seedings & betting odds

The UK Open, traditionally staged on the first weekend of March, sees 96 players battle it out over three days of action to be crowned the champion at Butlin's Minehead Resort.

View Latest Odds

Reigning champion Andrew Gilding beat three-time UK Open title-winner Michael van Gerwen 11-10 to claim his first and currently only major title to date, producing a huge shock.

Phil Taylor lifted five UK Open crowns, with Van Gerwen and James Wade each winning three Minehead titles.

The UK Open is one of the most entertaining and enthralling competitions on the darts circuit and the format of the competition, with it having an unseeded draw after each round, has earned it the nickname the "FA Cup of Darts".

There is also an opportunity for players who aren’t even on the PDC Tour to earn a spot on the big stage via qualifying tournaments that are held all over the country in the weeks leading up to the Minehead event, and it’s a chance to make dreams come true.

WhatUK Open Darts
WhereButlin's Minehead Resort
WhenFriday 1st March - Sunday 3rd March 2024
How to watchITV4 and PDCTV

When is the UK Open Darts?

The UK Open Darts has been played in early March since 2014. It was previously pencilled in for June on the calendar, taking place in that slot from the first time it was played in 2003.

The 2024 edition will be held between Friday 1st March and Sunday 3rd March.

Where is the UK Open Darts?

The UK Open Darts has been held at Butlin's Minehead Resort in Kent since 2014, apart from in 2021 when it was held at Milton Keynes’ Marshall Arena.

The resort’s Skyline Pavilion can hold 5,000 fans and the weekend-long tournament is seen as one of the most vibrant events on the darts calendar.

Can I watch the UK Open Darts?

The 2024 UK Open Darts is available to watch on ITV4 in the UK, as well as on PDCTV. It will be broadcast to international viewers on DAZN and Viaplay.

How many times has the UK Open Darts taken place?

The UK Open Darts has previously taken place on 21 occasions, with the 2024 edition set to be the 22nd.

The first 11 tournaments were held in Bolton, while Minehead has been the scene for the last nine, barring a single year in Milton Keynes in 2021.

Related Darts News

World Darts Championship Review: Smith fulfils darting destiny

Who has won the UK Open Darts on most occasions?

Phil Taylor52003, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2013
Michael van Gerwen32015, 2016, 2020
James Wade32008, 2011, 2021
Raymond van Barneveld22006 and 2007

As is the case with nearly every PDC event, Phil Taylor has won the UK Open Darts on most occasions, lifting the trophy five times.

Taylor beat Shayne Burgess (2003), Mark Walsh (2005), Colin Osborne (2009), Gary Anderson (2010) and Andy Hamilton (2013), while he lost to Robert Thornton in the 2012 final.

Michael Van Gerwen has won the title three times, beating Peter Wright in both 2015 and 2016 and then Luke Humphries in 2020.

The same number of titles have been won by James Wade, who took the honours in 2008, 2011 in 2021.

Who are the favourites for the UK Open Darts?

The nature of the UK Open Darts draw, with its lack of seeding, means the top 32 players in the PDC Order of Merit can often meet as soon as they enter the draw in the fourth round.

Raymond van Barneveld and Rob Cross met in a 10-9 thriller at the fourth-round stage last time around, while three-time UK Open champion James Wade faced two-time world champion Gary Anderson.

Michael van Gerwen, Gerwyn Price and current world champion Michael Smith are all likely to be towards the head of the betting and it’s possible that new kid on the block Josh Rock will also be amongst the fancied runners. 

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.