Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Constitution Hill
  1. Horse Racing
  2. Cheltenham Festival

When is the Champion Hurdle 2024? Odds, tips and previous winners

Top-class Irish hurdler State Man is a strong favourite to prevail in the Champion Hurdle on the opening day of the Cheltenham Festival after Constitution Hill was ruled out through injury.

Constitution Hill won last year's renewal by nine lengths in a scintillating performance and was highly fancied to retain his Champion Hurdle crown and maintain his unblemished career record, however Nicky Henderson has now confirmed he will not be fit enough to feature in this year's Festival.

That leaves the door open for a number of contenders including State Man, who was an impressive winner of the Irish Champion Hurdle at Leopardstown last time out.

Here is all you need to know for the 2024 Champion Hurdle.

Champion Hurdle 2024 Tips

Phill Anderson from the Racing Post has provided his NRNB selection for the 2024 Champion Hurdle.

NOT SO SLEEPY lines up for one last crack at the race and he arrives on the back of his Grade 1 success at Sandown. He's managed to finish fifth in three previous renewals and is ground versatile.

Runners and Riders

There are eight horses who have been entered for the 2024 Champion Hurdle following final declarations.

  • Colonel Mustard (JJ Slevin)
  • Iberico Lord (Nico de Boinville)
  • Irish Point (Jack Kennedy)
  • Luccia (James Bowen)
  • Nemean Lion (Richard Patrick)
  • Not So Sleepy (Sean Bowen)
  • State Man (Paul Townend)
  • Zarak The Brave (Daryl Jacob)

Champion Hurdle Previous Winners

The past five winners of the Champion Hurdle are:

  • 2023 - Constitution Hill
  • 2022 - Honeysuckle
  • 2021 - Honeysuckle
  • 2020 - Epatante
  • 2019 - Espoir d'Allen

Champion Hurdle 2024 Date and Time

The Champion Hurdle is the feature race on Day One of the 2024 Cheltenham Festival, which takes place at 15:30 on Tuesday 12th March 2024.

Champion Hurdle 2024 Location/Venue

The Champion Hurdle is one of the key races at the Cheltenham Festival, hosted at Cheltenham Racecourse, Gloucestershire.

How to watch the 2024 Champion Hurdle

You can watch and bet on the 2024 Champion Hurdle courtesy of the bet365 Horse Racing Live Streaming service.

To watch, you simply need to have a funded account, or to have placed in bet in the last 24 hours.

All Cheltenham racing will also be available on ITV Racing throughout the four days.

Cheltenham Festival

Champion Hurdle

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.