Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Rugby Union

Six Nations: Previous winners

The 2024 edition of the Six Nations kicks off on Friday 2nd February with Ireland looking to defend the title they claimed in stunning style as they completed the Grand Slam in 2023.

That was the fourth time Ireland have claimed the Grand Slam, which requires a team to win all five of their matches, drawing them level with Wales and France on the all-time list.

Meanwhile, Ireland and England have each recorded two clean sweeps since the tournament's expansion to include Italy ahead of the 2000 edition.

England have won the most Six Nations titles with seven, with both France and Wales having topped the standings on six occasions. Ireland have five titles, with Scotland and Italy the only two countries not to have won the Six Nations.

WhatSix Nations 2024
WhereTwickenham, Stade Velodrome, Stade Pierre-Mauroy, Parc Olympique Lyonnais, Aviva Stadium, Stadio Olimpico, Murrayfield, Millennium Stadium
WhenFriday 2nd February - Saturday 16th March
How to watchBBC and ITV
OddsFrance 6/5, Ireland 11/8, England 6/1, Scotland 12/1, Wales 25/1, Italy 500/1

Ireland (2009, 2014, 2015, 2023)

Last season's success for Ireland marked the first time they have completed the Grand Slam since 2018 and they are 10/3 to claim another in 2024.

Ireland have arguably played the most consistently exciting rugby of the Six Nations era, but have won the tournament five times.

The first of those came in 2009 when Ronan O'Gara and Brian O'Driscoll inspired the backs and the pack was driven on by the likes of Paul O'Connell and David Wallace.

While they won the tournament in both 2014 and 2015, those results were arguably overshadowed by their poor showing at the latter year's World Cup.

By then Sexton had taken the reins from O'Gara and aided by O'Connell and Sean O'Brien, guided his country to glory. He did so again in 2018, but again they failed to capitalise on their momentum and crashed out in the quarter-finals of the 2019 World Cup.

They lived up to their status as the world's number one ranked nation in 2023 as they secured the Grand Slam but their success was bitterly overshadowed by their quarter-final exit at the Rugby World Cup, losing out to eventual runners-up New Zealand.

Their opening fixture against France in Marseille is a tournament-defining contest, with the victor expected to emerge as strong favourites for the Six Nations crown.

France (2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2022)

Fabien Galthie's team have been building nicely since the coach officially took charge after the 2019 World Cup and after a chaotic decade, it is fitting that the former scrum-half should be overseeing his country's renaissance.

Galthie captained France to their first Six Nations Grand Slam in 2002 and seems to have transferred the speed of thought that characterised his playing career into his coaching.

France next won the Six Nations in 2004, with another Grand Slam. However, while they took the title in both 2006 and 2007, they could not record another perfect campaign until the 2010 season, when Morgan Parra kicked three penalties and Francois Trinh-Duc added a drop goal to see them to a nervy closing 12-10 win over England.

Les Bleus had to had wait 12 years for their next triumph, defeating Ireland and England in Paris to seal their fourth Grand Slam in 2022.

The aforementioned opening game against Ireland will determine their title credentials in 2024.

Wales (2005, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2019, 2021)

The 2021 champions were Wales, who agonisingly missed out on a fifth Grand Slam with a last-gasp defeat to the French in Paris.

That success came under Wayne Pivac but inconsistent results under the Kiwi saw him lose his job before Christmas and be replaced by his compatriot and predecessor, Warren Gatland.

Gatland first took over in late 2007 and led the team to an immediate Grand Slam in 2008. His pragmatic approach earned his tactics the nickname 'Warrenball', but despite the scorn, they garnered plenty of success.

Wales won the Six Nations four times under Gatland (2008, 2012, 2013 and 2019), with 2013 the only year they did not do so with a Grand Slam.

Gatland was not the first coach to lead Wales to the clean sweep. That was Mike Ruddock who transformed a side that had shown signs of progress under predecessor Steve Hansen into a winning machine as they took the title in 2005, inspired by the likes of Martyn Williams, Stephen Jones and the inimitable Gavin Henson.

The upcoming Six Nations presents a transitional period for the Welsh, with a new-look squad containing five international rookies and a 21-year-old captain.

England (2000, 2001, 2003, 2011, 2016, 2017, 2020)

For all of France, Wales and Ireland's successes, England have won the most titles with seven.

The most recent came in 2020 when they recovered from an opening defeat in Paris to win their next four matches and take the crown with a 34-5 victory in Italy.

England dominated the early years of the competition, winning three of the first four renewals in 2000, 2001 and 2003, the latter being accompanied by a Grand Slam. Their gutsy showings would provide the blueprint for when Clive Woodward's masterplan came together later in the year as his side beat Australia in the World Cup final.

However, while they also took the title in 2011, 2016 and 2017, only the 2016 success was a clean sweep as Eddie Jones' side barged past all before them.

Jones' three titles match Woodward's tally, but after a poor sequence of results the Aussie was sacked and replaced by former captain Steve Borthwick in December 2022.

Borthwick endured a dismal Six Nations debut as England finished fourth but an encouraging run to the World Cup semi-finals offers hope that they can challenge for a record-extending eighth title in 2024.

List of Six Nations Winners

(GS = Tournament won with a Grand Slam)

2000: England

2001: England

2002: France (GS)

2003: England (GS)

2004: France (GS)

2005: Wales (GS)

2006: France

2007: France

2008: Wales (GS)

2009: Ireland (GS)

2010: France (GS)

2011: England

2012: Wales (GS)

2013: Wales

2014: Ireland

2015: Ireland

2016: England (GS)

2017: England

2018: Ireland (GS)

2019: Wales (GS)

2020: England

2021: Wales

2022: France (GS)

2023: Ireland (GS)

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.