Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. Premier League

Premier League Records: Longest winning run

Manchester City and Liverpool share the record for the longest winning runs in Premier League history with 18 each.


Longest winning runs in Premier League

Team (dates)Winning run
Manchester City (26th August 2017 – 31st December 2017)18 games
Liverpool (27th October 2019 – 29th February 2020)18 games
Manchester City (19th December 2020 – 7th March 2021) 17 games
Liverpool (10th March 2019 – 20th October 2019)17 games
Arsenal (10th February 2002 – 24th August 2002)14 games

Interestingly, Liverpool and Manchester City are the only teams to win 15 or more consecutive games in the Premier League era, and it’s a milestone they’ve each surpassed twice.

Manchester City were the first to set the record in Pep Guardiola’s second season, and his side virtually wrapped up the title by Christmas. After drawing their second game of the season with Everton, City won 18 on the bounce, eventually being held to a 0-0 draw by Crystal Palace on New Year’s Eve.

Liverpool’s title-winning season saw them win a record-equalling 18 games after drawing 1-1 with Manchester United before suffering a shock 3-0 defeat to Watford. It bookended what was arguably the most dominant spell of football seen in England, with Liverpool winning 17 consecutive games from the end of the previous season to the start of the following, for a total of 35 wins in 36 games.

After labouring through the start of the Covid-delayed 2020/21 campaign, City hit top gear around the turn of the year. In sixth place after drawing 1-1 at home to West Brom in December, City won 17 consecutive games, the run eventually being ended by Manchester United the following March.

Arsenal’s remarkable winning run at the end of the 2001/02 season saw them win 13 on the bounce to overhaul Manchester United and deny them a fourth straight title, winning the opening game of the following season, before having to come from 2-0 down to rescue a point against West Ham, ending their streak at 14.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.