Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Darts
  2. Premier League Darts

Premier League Darts: Start date, tournament format & highest averages

One of the staples of the annual PDC calendar, Premier League Darts returns for its 20th staging in 2024 with eight players battling it out to capture the coveted title and £275,000 in Prize Money.


Latest match & outright odds

Premier League Darts line-up

The eight player line-up has been confirmed, and includes new world champion Luke Humphries as well as defeated finalist Luke Littler.

1 - Luke Humphries
2 - Michael van Gerwen
3 - Michael Smith
4 - Nathan Aspinall
5 - Gerwyn Price
6 - Rob Cross
7 - Peter Wright
8 - Luke Littler

Premier League Darts date

The Premier League of Darts has always been held between February and May and that is no different this time with the tournament getting underway on Thursday 1st February and drawing to a close on Finals Night on Thursday 23rd May.

Premier League Darts locations

Over the years, the Premier League of Darts has taken place across a host of major UK cities such as Liverpool, Newcastle and Aberdeen as well as in Rotterdam in the Netherlands and Berlin in Germany.

The 2023 tournament kept the same 17 venues that were used in the Premier League the year before and 2025 will be no different.

READ MORE: 2024 Premier League Darts: Schedule & more

Premier League Darts defending champion

In the 2023 final of the Premier League of Darts, Dutchman Van Gerwen came out on top, defeating Welshman Gerwyn Price 11-5 in the final.

Michael Smith and Jonny Clayton also finished in the top four in the regular standings.

That was Van Gerwen's second successive title after he also won in 2022 and he will be targeting a hat-trick of titles in 2024.

Who has won the most Premier League Darts titles?

Dutch star Van Gerwen also holds the record for the most Premier League titles, having won seven in his career with nine finals appearances to his name.

Just behind MVG is Englishman Phil Taylor, who won six throughout his career.

Aside from Van Gerwen, Scotland's Gary Anderson is the only other player still playing who has won the Premier League Darts on more than one occasion, having last done so in 2015.

Premier League Darts 9-Dart Legs

In total, there have been 14 nine-dart finishes thrown in the history of the Premier League.

The first came from Raymond van Barneveld back in 2006 and the most recent was by Price in Belfast in 2022. 

Van Barneveld, Taylor and Adrian Lewis have all recorded nine-dart finishes on more than one occasion.

Premier League Darts format

The format for the 2024 staging of the event will remain identical to that of the past couple of years, whereby there will be a nightly winner on each week of the competition.

An eight-person knockout bracket will take place, with the winners of the four quarter-finals progressing to the semi-finals, and then the two winners will move on to the final. All matches will be played over the best-of-11 legs.

In the first seven weeks of the season and in weeks nine to 15, players will be guaranteed to come across each other once in the quarter-finals. Weeks eight and 16, meanwhile, will be drawn based on league standings at that point.

Throughout the campaign, players will pick up two points for making the semi-finals, three points for making the final and five points for every final win.

After the regular season has concluded, the top four players in the table will partake in two knockout semi-finals.

Premier League Darts Odds

Luke Humphries has been installed as the favourite to prevail victorious in this year's Premier League Darts campaign after the new world champion was included in the event for the first time.

Premier League Darts Winner Odds

Premier League Darts Tips

Keith Deller MBE will be providing his tips throughout the duration of the 2024 competition, providing his weekly best bets.

View the Latest Darts Tips

Premier League Darts highest three-dart averages

Van Gerwen leads the way when it comes to the highest three-dart average in the Premier League, having posted 123.40 when up against Smith in week four back in 2016.

Here are the top 10 highest averages in Premier League Darts history: 

123.40Michael van Gerwen v Michael Smith2016
119.50Peter Wright v Adrian Lewis2017
117.95Michael van Gerwen v Rob Thornton2016
117.35Phil Taylor v Simon Whitlock2012
116.90Michael van Gerwen v James Wade2015
116.67Michael van Gerwen v Peter Wright2016
116.10Phil Taylor v James Wade2012
116.01Phil Taylor v John Part2009
115.97Gerwyn Price v Chris Dobey2023
115.80Phil Taylor v Raymond van Barneveld2015

How many editions of the Premier League have there been?

Having started back in 2005, there have been 19 editions of the Premier League of Darts with the 2024 season therefore set to be the 20th staging of the event.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.