Skip to content
Grand Slam of Darts
  1. More Sports & News
  2. Darts

Grand Slam of Darts: All you need to know

Gerwyn Price is looking to make it four wins in five years at the 2022 Grand Slam of Darts, which gets going in Wolverhampton on 12th November.

Thirty two of the world's top stars will gather at Aldersley Leisure Village for the £650,000 Grand Slam of Darts, one of the highlights of the PDC's calendar.

Expect plenty of shocks over the first four days of round-robin group-stage action before the 16 qualifiers head for the knockouts, each with the aim of lifting the Eric Bristow Trophy on finals night on 20th November.

What:The Grand Slam of Darts
Where:Aldersley Leisure Village, Wolverhampton
When (2022 Event):Saturday 12th November – Sunday 20th November, 2022
How to watch:Sky Sports

When is the Grand Slam of Darts?

The Grand Slam of Darts usually takes place in November and the 2022 event will be held from Saturday 12th November to Sunday 20th November.

Thirty-two players are split into eight groups of four, with round-robin matches over four days. The top two from each group go through to the first knockout round, round two, to be played on 16th and 17th November.

Where is the Grand Slam of Darts?

The Grand Slam of Darts is in Wolverhampton, its spiritual home since the first running of the event in 2007.

Formerly at the Civic Hall, now at Aldersley Leisure Village, the only year it left Wolverhampton was in 2020 when the tournament was staged at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry.

Can I watch the Grand Slam of Darts?

Yes. The tournament will be shown live on Sky Sports.

How many times has the Grand Slam of Darts taken place?

The Grand Slam of Darts was first introduced into the darting calendar back in 2007, a non-ranking event which invited the best players from two of the sport's governing bodies – the PDC and BDO – to take part.

The BDO is no more and for the first time in 2022, the field will be made up entirely of PDC card holders.

Related Darts Content

Darts: Players Championship 29 and 30 preview

European Championship Preview: Can Cool Hand cope with top billing?

2023 World Darts Championship: Start date, how to watch, latest odds & more

WATCH: Michael Smith speaks exclusively to bet365 in Gibraltar

Who has won the Grand Slam of Darts on the most occasions?

Need you ask! Phil Taylor won the first three runnings of the Grand Slam, added a fourth title in 2011 and two more in 2013 and 2014, making him a six-time winner.

Michael van Gerwen and Gerwyn Price have each won the tournament three times.

The other three winners were Scott Waites – the only representative from the BDO to ever lift the title when he triumphed back in 2010 – Raymond van Barneveld and Jose de Sousa.

Who are the favourites for the Grand Slam of Darts?

One player not in the betting for this year's Grand Slam of Darts is Gary Anderson, noteworthy because he is one of only two players – James Wade the other – to have been an ever-present since the tournament began in 2007.

The Scot played in two finals, losing 16-4 to a majestic Phil Taylor in 2011 and then going down 16-13 in an infamously, bad-tempered bust-up with Gerwyn Price in 2018.

That was Price's breakthrough moment and the world No.1 will be among the favourites for this year's renewal, especially having won the title three times.

Michael van Gerwen, the other three-time winner in the field, will also be among the favourites alongside world champion Peter Wright, who has reached the final in three of the last five years but not won it.

Keep an eye out for Ross Smith, who produced a rare feat in Dortmund.

In winning the European Championship, Smith defeated five players all of whom were ranked higher than him at the beginning of the tournament, a performance that has seen him surge up to No.20 in the world.

The field also includes two of the stars of the women's game, their world matchplay chamoion Fallon Sherrock and the women's order of merit winner Lisa Ashton.

Sherrock was in the field last year and beat Mike de Decker, Gabriel Clemens and Mensur Suljovic before losing to Peter Wright 16-13 in the last eight.

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy