Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing
  2. Grand National

Grand National: Previous Winners

The Grand National at Aintree is one of Britain's true sporting institutions and a race like no other in terms of its position in the public consciousness.

With the famous spruce-clad fences at the Merseyside course, the National is an instantly recognisable race, unlike any other in the sport. 

In recent times, the Grand National has produced some sublime sporting stories – equine and human alike. 

Since 2010, we've witnessed the great AP McCoy finally win the race, Neptune Collonges win by a nose for Paul Nicholls, popular winners in Many Clouds and One For Arthur, Tiger Roll becoming the People's Champion and, of course, Rachael Blackmore creating history as the first woman to ride a Grand National winner when Minella Times scored. 

Here's the complete list of every Grand National winner at Aintree since 1990, with a reminder that you can watch the next instalment on Saturday 13th April 2024 via the bet365 live Sports Streaming Service.

WhatGrand National 2024
WhereAintree Racecourse, Liverpool
WhenSaturday 13th April 2024
How to watchbet365 live Sports Streaming, ITV, Racing TV
OddsCorach Rambler 20/1, Gaillard Du Mesnil 25/1, I Am Maximus 25/1, Noble Yeats 25/1, Vanillier 25/1, Fastorslow 25/1

The 1990s

A decade in which Carl Llewellyn piloted a pair of Grand National winners, father & son Paul and Tommy Carberry combined for victory and, uniquely, the first and so far only time that the race was declared void, after 30 of the 39 runners began and carried on racing despite a false start having been called.

Year of race HorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
1990 Mr FriskMarcus ArmytageKim BaileyLois Duffey16/1
1991SeagramNigel HawkeDavid BaronsSir Eric Parker12/1
1992Party PoliticsCarl LlewellynNick GasaleePatricia Thompson14/1
1993Race Void----
1994MiinnehomaRichard DunwoodyMartin PipeFreddie Starr16/1
1995Royal AthleteJason TitleyJenny PitmanG & L Johnson40/1
1996Rough QuestMick FitzgeraldTerry CaseyAndrew Wates7/1 fav
1997Lord GylleneTony DobbinSteve BrookshawStan Clarke14/1
1998Earth SummitCarl LlewellynNigel Twiston-DaviesSummit Partnership7/1 fav
1999BobbyjoPaul CarberryTommy CarberryBobby Burke10/1

The 2000s

Incredibly, a new century began as the old one ended, with a father & son team prevailing at Aintree this time Ruby Walsh doing the steering for his dad, Ted, on Papillon. 

This decade also included a final win for iconic National trainer Ginger McCain via Amberleigh House, maiden successes for modern training greats Willie Mullins (Hedgehunter) and Gordon Elliott (Silver Birch), and a rare 100/1 winner of the great race when Mon Mome stunned his rivals!

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2000 PapillonRuby WalshTed WalshMrs J. Maxwell Moran10/1
2001Red MarauderRichard GuestNorman MasonNorman Mason33/1
2002BindareeJim CullotyNigel Twiston-DaviesRaymond Mould20/1
2003Monty's PassBarry GeraghtyJimmy ManganDee Racing Syndicate16/1
2004Amberleigh HouseGraham LeeGinger McCainHalewood Int. Ltd16/1
2005HedgehunterRuby WalshWillie MullinsTrevor Hemmings7/1 fav
2006NumbersixvalverdeNiall MaddenMartin BrassilBernard Carroll11/1
2007Silver BirchRobbie Power Gordon ElliottBrian Walsh33/1
2008Comply Or DieTimmy MurphyDavid PipeDavid Johnson7/1 joint-fav
2009Mon MomeLiam TreadwellVenetia WilliamsVida Bingham100/1

Related Grand National News

Grand National 2023: Dates, TV schedule, odds and records

Grand National Schedule: Start Date & How to watch live

We are Non-Runner No Bet on the 2023 Grand National

The 2010s

A decade that began with the fairytale success as perennial champion jockey AP McCoy finally landed the race that eluded him throughout his career on Don't Push It. 

It would also include successive wins for rider Leighton Aspell on different horses, a rare feat, the first Scottish-trained winner in a generation in One For Arthur, Neptune Collonges winning via the closest finish in many a year and, of course, Tiger Roll becoming the first back-to-back winner since the mighty Red Rum in the 1970s.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2010 Don't Push ItAP McCoyJonjo O'NeillJP McManus10/1 joint-fav
2011BallabriggsJason MaguireDonald McCainTrevor Hemmings14/1
2012Neptune CollongesDaryl JacobPaul NichollsJohn Hales33/1
2013Auroras EncoreRyan ManiaSue SmithDouglas Pryde, Jim Beaumont and David P van der Hoeven66/1
2014Pineau De ReLeighton AspellDr Richard NewlandJohn Provan25/1
2015Many CloudsLeighton AspellOliver SherwoodTrevor Hemmings25/1
2016Rule The WorldDavid MullinsMouse MorrisGigginstown House Stud33/1
2017One For ArthurDerek FoxLucinda RussellDeborah Thomson & Belinda McClung14/1
2018Tiger RollDavy RussellGordon ElliottGigginstown House Stud10/1
2019Tiger RollDavy RussellGordon ElliottGigginstown House Stud4/1 fav

The 2020s

The latest decade of course began amid lockdown, ensuring that for the first time since the Second World War there was no Grand National at Aintree. 

That historic moment for the sport was to be followed by another when the great race returned as Rachael Blackmore won on Minella Times. She became the first female rider to win the race and an inspiration to a generation that idolise her in doing so. 

In 2022, Noble Yeats became the first seven-year-old to win in 82 years, scoring under amateur rider Sam Waley-Cohen in the colours of his father, Robert, for trainer Emmet Mullins.

The 2023 renewal saw a second win in the race for both jockey Derek Fox and trainer Lucinda Russell, as favourite Corach Rambler triumphed to give Scotland a second winner in six years.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2020Race cancelled----
2021Minella TimesRachael BlackmoreHenry De BromheadJP McManus11/1
2022Noble YeatsSam Waley-CohenEmmet MullinsRobert Waley-Cohen50/1
2023Corach RamblerDerek FoxLucinda RusselllThe Ramblers8/1

View the latest Grand National odds here 

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.