Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. Scottish Premiership

Scottish Premiership: History, dates, teams, schedule & more

The Scottish Premiership was established in July 2013 and is the top division of the Scottish Professional Football League.

Celtic have been the dominant side since the inaugural Scottish Premiership season in 2013/14, winning the title in nine of the 10 campaigns and also completing the treble five times.

WhatScottish Premiership 2023/24
WhereVarious venues in Scotland
When5th August 2023 - 19th May 2024
How to watchSky Sports Main Event & Sky Sports Football
OddsCeltic 2/9, Rangers 3/1, Hearts 300/1, Aberdeen 300/1, St Mirren 300/1, Hibernian 350/1, Motherwell 750/1

Scottish Premiership dates

The Scottish Premiership got underway on the 5th of August 2023 and runs through until the final day of the campaign on the 19th May 2024.

Scottish Premiership locations

There are 12 grounds in the Scottish Premiership this season. They are Parkhead, Ibrox, Tynecastle, Easter Road, Pittodrie, Dens Park, Rugby Park, Fir Park, Victoria Park, Almondvale and McDiarmid Park.

Scottish Premiership how to watch

Sky Sports is offering live coverage of the Scottish Premiership and they will be showing 48 games in the 2023/24 season, while certain matches will also be live on BBC Scotland. 

Free highlights are available on the Sky Sports App and their social media channels, while highlights are also shown on the BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website and BBC Scotland's TV channels.

Scottish Premiership explained

The Scottish Premiership, currently known as the Cinch Premiership for sponsorship reasons, was formed in July 2013 and it has served as the pinnacle of domestic football north of the border ever since. 

It was created after the SPFL was formed by a merger of the Scottish Premier League and Scottish Football League. 

A total of 12 teams compete in the division and the winners at the end of the campaign will be crowned champions and also earn a place in the group stage of the Champions League. 

The runners-up earn a place in the third round of qualifying for the Champions League, while third enters the Europa League at the second qualifying round and fourth heads into the second round of qualifying for the Europa Conference League. 

Whoever finishes bottom will be relegated, with that place taken by the Scottish Championship winners, while the 11th-placed side will go into the Premiership play-off final against the winners of the Championship play-off. 

The play-off final is played over two legs, with the victor earning the right to play in the Scottish Premiership the following season. 

Prior to the Scottish Premiership's creation, only the bottom team could be relegated and their place would be taken by the Scottish Championship winners. 

Different to most leagues across Europe, the Scottish Premiership only has 12 teams in the division and each side plays 38 games in the season. 

There are also two phases to the campaign. The first involves all 12 teams teams playing each other three times, either once at home and twice away or vice versa, before the league is then split into two halves - a 'top six' and a 'bottom six'. 

Each club will then play a further five matches, taking on each side in their split, with the points gathered from these contests adding to the points tally from the first phase. 

Once the split is made, teams cannot move out of their half in the league, regardless of whether they achieve more or fewer points than the higher or lower ranked side.

Scottish Premiership most titles

The Bhoys won seven consecutive titles before rivals Rangers managed to end that streak in 2020/21 under the guidance of manager Steven Gerrard. 

Celtic have won the title in the last two seasons, completing the treble in 2022/23, and they will be looking to add to their trophy haul this term. 

In regards to Scotland's top-flight league championship, which takes into account seasons before the Scottish Premiership was created, Rangers are the most successful side with 55 titles. 

Celtic are just two behind the Gers, while the last team to win the trophy outside of the two Old Firm clubs was Aberdeen in 1984/85.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.