Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing
  2. Royal Ascot

Ascot Gold Cup: Previous winners

The Gold Cup at Ascot is one of Britain's most prestigious races and has been part of the racing calendar since the 1800s.

While there are several high-profile flat races throughout the summer in the UK, the Ascot Gold Cup is unique, as it is the most prestigious event for "stayers" - horses who specialise in racing over longer distances.

Aidan O'Brien's Kyprios joined the list of greats to win the Ascot Gold Cup at Ascot in 2022 as he held off Mojo Star and three-time champion Stradivarius.

Under immense pressure, jockey Ryan Moore produced Kyprios at the perfect time, but there are doubts about whether he will be able to defend his crown due to injury.

Here's the complete list of every Ascot Gold Cup winner since 1990, with a reminder that you can watch the next instalment on Thursday 22nd June 2023 via the bet365 Sports Live Streaming Service.

WhatAscot Gold Cup
WhereAscot Racecourse, Ascot, Berkshire
When4.20, Thursday 22nd June 2023
How to watchbet365 Sports Live Streaming, ITV, Racing TV
OddsColtrane 7/2, Eldar Eldarov 4/1, Emily Dickinson 5/1, Broome 7/1, Haskoy 8/1

The 1990s

A decade in which trainer Lord Huntingdon enjoyed three wins on the spin thanks to Indian Queen and Drum Taps, with the latter winning on two occasions.

One of the highlights of the 90s came in 1995 when Mark Johnston's Double Trigger won the race to help him land the Stayers' Triple Crown.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
1990AshalRichard HillsHarry Thomson JonesHamdan Al Maktoum14/1
1991Indian QueenWalter SwinburnLord HuntingdonSir Gordon Brunton25/1
1992Drum TapsFrankie DettoriLord HuntingdonYoshio Asakawa7/4Fav
1993Drum TapsFrankie DettoriLord HuntingdonYoshio Asakawa13/2
1994Arcadian HeightsMichael HillsGeoff WraggJohn Pearce20/1
1995Double TriggerJason WeaverMark JohnstonRon Huggins9/4
1996Classic ClicheMichael KinaneSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin3/1
1997CelericPat EdderyDavid MorleyChristopher Spence11/2
1998Kayf TaraFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin11/1
1999EnzeliJohnny MurtaghJohn OxxHH Aga Khan IV20/1

The 2000s

Johnston had to wait another six years for a victory in the Ascot Gold Cup, but he won two successive times with Royal Rebel. However, it was Aidan O'Brien and Yeats who stole the headlines during the 2000s.

Yeats won seven Group 1 races throughout his career and he is still the only horse ever to win the Ascot Gold Cup four times in succession.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2000Kayf TaraFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin11/8Fav
2001Royal RebelJohnny MurtaghMark JohnstonPeter Savill8/1
2002Royal RebelJohnny MurtaghMark JohnstonPeter Savill16/1
2003Mr DinosKieren FallonPaul ColeConstantine Shiacolas3/1
2004PapineauFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin5/1
2005WesternerOlivier PeslierElie LelloucheEcurie Wildenstein7/4Fav
2006YeatsKieren FallonAidan O’BrienMagnier, Nagle7/1
2007YeatsMichael KinaneAidan O’BrienMagnier, Nagle8/13Fav
2008YeatsJohnny MurtaghAidan O’BrienMagnier, Nagle11/8Fav
2009YeatsJohnny MurtaghAidan O’BrienMagnier, Nagle6/4Fav

The 2010s

O'Brien enjoyed further success in the race during the 2010s, winning the event in 2011, 2014 and 2016 with Fame and Glory, Leading Light and Order of St George.

John Gosden ended the 2010s with two wins on the spin in what were his first successes in the race, and it was stable star Stradivarius who landed the spoils in 2018 and 2019.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2010Rite of PassagePat SmullenDermot WeldDr Ronan Lambe20/1
2011Fame and GloryJamie SpencerAidan O’BrienSmith, Magnier et al11/8Fav
2012Colour VisionFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin6/1
2013EstimateRyan MooreSir Michael StouteHM Queen Elizabeth II7/2
2014Leading LightJoseph O’BrienAidan O’BrienSmith, Magnier, Tabor10/11Fav
2015Trip to ParisGraham LeeEd DunlopLa Grange Partnership12/1
2016Order of St GeorgeRyan MooreAidan O’BrienSmith, Magnier, Tabor10/11Fav
2017Big OrangeJames DoyleMichael BellBill Gredley5/1
2018StradivariusFrankie DettoriJohn GosdenBjorn Nelson7/4Fav
2019StradivariusFrankie DettoriJohn GosdenBjorn Nelson1/1Fav

The 2020s

This decade started the same way the 2010s finished, with Stradivarius and Frankie Dettori winning the race for the third year in a row.

Sadly for them, Subjectivist ended that streak in 2021, before O'Brien won his eighth Ascot Gold Cup in 2022 with Kyprios. 

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2020StradivariusFrankie DettoriJohn GosdenBjorn Nelson4/5
2021SubjectivistJoe FanningMark JohnstonDr Jim Walker13/2
2022KypriosRyan MooreAidan O’BrienMoyglare Stud13/8

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.