Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NBA

NBA MVP Race: Odds, winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

We cover all you need to know about the NBA's Most Valuable Player Award, including the latest odds, past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic is zeroing in on his third NBA MVP award in the last four seasons. 

Last year’s winner, Philadelphia 76ers center Joel Embiid, will miss a significant portion of the remaining regular season schedule due to a left knee injury. 

2023/24 NBA MVP odds

Nikola Jokic-155
Shai Gilgeous-Alexander+250
Giannis Antetokounmpo+700
Luka Doncic+1200
Kawhi Leonard+3500
Jalen Brunson+4500
Jayson Tatum+6000

2023/24 NBA MVP favorites

Nikola Jokic -155

Jokic won back-to-back MVP awards in 2021 and 2022 before finishing second to Embiid last season as he led the Denver Nuggets to their first NBA title and won the Finals MVP instead. 

A six-time All Star and five-time All-NBA first or second team selection, Jokic leads the Nuggets and is 13th in the NBA with 26.3 points per game. 

He is also third in the league in rebounds (12.2) and fourth in assists (9). The next closest big man is Embiid with 5.7 assists a game. 

Read more: All you need to know about the NBA's new load management rules

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander +250

The Oklahoma City Thunder are one of four teams in the NBA’s Western Conference vying for the top seed right now. Gilgeous-Alexander, who is tied for third in the league in scoring at 31.1 points per game, is a big reason why.

SGA also leads the Thunder in assists and is 14th in the league with 6.6 a game, and he leads the league with 2.2 steals per contest.  

Read more: 2023/24 NBA Championship odds

Giannis Antetokounmpo +700

Joining Jokic as former two-time MVP award winners, Antetokounmpo is guiding the Milwaukee Bucks through a weirdly tumultuous season. 

Despite a 33-19 record, the Bucks have already replaced Adrian Griffin at coach with Doc Rivers. Milwaukee has slipped to 6.5 games behind Boston in the Eastern Conference.

Antetokounmpo is holding the team together, leading the Bucks in scoring (31.1 ppg), rebounding (11.2 rpg) and steals (1.4 spg). The ‘Greek Freak’ is tied with SGA for third in the league in scoring and he also ranks in the top 10 in rebounds and steals. 

Read more: NBA Rookie of the Year odds

Luka Doncic +1200

The five-time NBA All Star, four-time 1st team All-NBA performer and 2018/19 NBA Rookie of the Year, Doncic is again near the top of the NBA’s leaders in several statistical categories for the Dallas Mavericks.

Doncic is second to Embiid in scoring (34.6 ppg) and leads the league in assists (9.5) per game. He also paces Dallas with 8.8 rebounds and 1.5 steals per contest.  

Kawhi Leonard +3500

Having won 26 of their last 32 games, the Los Angeles Clippers have vaulted near the top of the Western Conference thanks, in part, to a healthy Leonard. 

The two-time NBA champion and Finals MVP leads Los Angeles in scoring (24.2 ppg) to go along with 6.3 rebounds and 3.7 assists per contest. The two-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year is currently fourth in the league in steals (1.7).

Leonard is attempting to become just the fifth player in NBA history to win an NBA title with three different teams. 

NBA MVP Winners by Year

2022/23Joel EmbiidCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
2021/22Nikola JokićCenterDenver Nuggets
2020/21Nikola JokićCenterDenver Nuggets
2019/20Giannis AntetokounmpoPower forwardMilwaukee Bucks
2018/19Giannis AntetokounmpoPower forwardMilwaukee Bucks
2017/18James HardenShooting guardHouston Rockets
2016/17Russell WestbrookPoint guardOklahoma City Thunder
2015/16Stephen CurryPoint guardGolden State Warriors
2014/15Stephen CurryPoint guardGolden State Warriors
2013/14Kevin DurantSmall forwardOklahoma City Thunder
2012/13LeBron JamesSmall forwardMiami Heat
2011/12LeBron JamesSmall forwardMiami Heat
2010/11Derrick RosePoint guardChicago Bulls
2009/10LeBron JamesSmall forwardCleveland Cavaliers
2008/09LeBron JamesSmall forwardCleveland Cavaliers
2007/08Kobe BryantShooting guardLos Angeles Lakers
2006/07Dirk NowitzkiPower forwardDallas Mavericks
2005/06Steve NashPoint guardPhoenix Suns
2004/05Steve NashPoint guardPhoenix Suns
2003/04Kevin GarnettPower forwardMinnesota Timberwolves
2002/03Tim DuncanPower forwardSan Antonio Spurs
2001/02Tim DuncanPower forwardSan Antonio Spurs
2000/01Allen IversonShooting guardPhiladelphia 76ers
1999/00Shaquille O'NealCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1998/99Karl MalonePower forwardUtah Jazz
1997/98Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1996/97Karl MalonePower forwardUtah Jazz
1995/96Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1994/95David RobinsonCenterSan Antonio Spurs
1993/94Hakeem OlajuwonCenterHouston Rockets
1992/93Charles BarkleyPower forwardPhoenix Suns
1991/92Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1990/91Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1989/90Magic JohnsonPoint guardLos Angeles Lakers
1988/89Magic JohnsonPoint guardLos Angeles Lakers
1987/88Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1986/87Magic JohnsonPoint guardLos Angeles Lakers
1985/86Larry BirdSmall forwardBoston Celtics
1984/85Larry BirdSmall forwardBoston Celtics
1983/84Larry BirdSmall forwardBoston Celtics
1982/83Moses MaloneCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1981/82Moses MaloneCenterHouston Rockets
1980/81Julius ErvingSmall forwardPhiladelphia 76ers
1979/80Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1978/79Moses MaloneCenterHouston Rockets
1977/78Bill WaltonCenterPortland Trail Blazers
1976/77Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1975/76Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1974/75Bob McAdooCenterBuffalo Braves
1973/74Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterMilwaukee Bucks
1972/73Dave CowensCenterBoston Celtics
1971/72Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterMilwaukee Bucks
1970/71Lew AlcindorCenterMilwaukee Bucks
1969/70Willis ReedCenterNew York Knicks
1968/69Wes UnseldCenterBaltimore Bullets
1967/68Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1966/67Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1965/66Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1964/65Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1963/64Oscar RobertsonPoint guardCincinnati Royals
1962/63Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1961/62Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1960/61Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1959/60Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia Warriors
1958/59Bob PettitPower forwardSt. Louis Hawks
1957/58Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1956/57Bob CousyPoint guardBoston Celtics
1955/56Bob PettitPower forwardSt. Louis Hawks

NBA MVP announcement

The NBA MVP award is typically announced in May, after the regular season has ended and the playoffs have begun. However, there is no set date for the announcement, and the NBA may change the date each year. For example, in 2023, the MVP award was announced on May 2.

NBA MVP voting

The NBA MVP award is voted on by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Each voter casts a first-place ballot for their choice for MVP, a second-place ballot, and so on. The player with the most first-place votes wins the award.

NBA MVP trophy 

The NBA's Most Valuable Player receives the Michael Jordan Trophy. Named after five-time MVP Michael Jordan, the trophy was newly designed and named in 2022.

The bronze trophy stands 23.6 inches tall and weighs 23.6 pounds, representing Jordan’s jersey number (23) and the number of NBA titles he won (6).

Odds displayed within this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.