Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Darts
  2. PDC Darts

The Masters Darts: Dates, venue, schedule, history & how to watch

February sees some of the biggest names in darts battle it out on the oche in The Masters, with 24 stars looking to claim the £65,000 first prize.

It may be a non-ranking event, but it is one of the biggest tournaments of the year and continues to increase in popularity.

The tournament started in 2013 in Edinburgh, but in 2015 it moved to the current venue – the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes.

The Masters Darts dates

The Masters event takes place over three days, with the 2024 edition beginning on Friday, 2nd February running through to Sunday, 4th February.

There will be seven matches on the final day, starting with the four quarter-finals, then two semi-finals and the final.

The Masters Darts venue

The first Masters Darts tournament was back in 2013, with that edition and the following year held at the Royal Highland Centre in Edinburgh.

The 2024 tournament will be the 10th occasion that the event will be at the Marshall Arena, with Milton Keynes hosting the Masters since 2015.

The Masters Darts how to watch

Bet365's Sports Live Streaming service will be showing all of the action from MK, meaning you don’t have to miss a single leg of action throughout the three days.

Meanwhile, ITV4 will also be televising the tournament through the fifth round of action.

The Masters Darts schedule

The draw for the tournament will take place in January, with the first round being best-of-11-leg contests on day one.

The second day of the event sees eight second round match-ups, when the matches step up to the best of 19 legs.

The third and final day sees the quarter-finals (best of 19 legs), semi-finals (best of 21 legs) and the final (best of 21 legs) take place.

Most wins in the Masters Darts

Michael van Gerwen has enjoyed the most success of any other player at the Masters Darts, with the Dutchman racking up five tournament victories.

Not only has he won five Masters titles, but they all came in a row from 2015 to 2019, twice beating Raymond van Barneveld in the final.

No other player has won multiple Masters titles to date and ‘Mighty Mike’ will be looking for a sixth title in 2024.

Masters Darts history

The Masters featured the top-16 players from 2013 to 2020, before the organisers increased the field to 24 – with the top-eight seeded players going straight through to the second round.

Phil Taylor was the first ever Masters winner in 2013, when he comfortably beat Adrian Lewis 10-1 in the final.

James Wade made it another English success the following year, with the ‘The Machine’ beating countryman Mervyn King 11-10 in the final.

Van Gerwen then dominated the tournament over the next five years, before Peter Wright ended the Dutchman’s run with victory in 2020.

Jonny Clayton was the first Welsh winner, averaging 104.10 in his 11-8 final victory over Mervyn King – a two-time beaten finalist - in 2021.

In 2022, Joe Cullen was a surprise winner with the Yorkshireman running out an 11-9 victor over Dave Chisnall, while Chris Dobey won the event in 2023 after beating Rob Cross 11-7 in the final.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.