Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Tennis

Queen's Club Championships: Start date, how to watch, past winners, history & more

The Queen's Club Championships are the traditional warm-up to Wimbledon, the highlight of the grasscourt season for the best tennis players in the world.

Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz will be the defending champion at Queen's - as well as Wimbledon - and arrives in fine nick following his recent French Open triumph.

Queen's Club Championships dates

The Queen's Club Championships will take place from Monday 17th June until Sunday 23rd June in 2024. It will be the 121st edition of the event.

Queen's Club Championships venue

The Queen's Club Championships are held at the Queen's Club in Barons Court, West Kensington, London.

The private members club was established in 1886. The Queen's Club Championships is one of the oldest and most recognised tennis tournaments in the world. It was first hosted at the Club in 1890 as a joint men's and women's event.

Queen's has recently confirmed that in 2025 a women's tournament will return to the Club for the first time since 1973.

Queen's Club Championships how to watch

The BBC have covered the tournament since 1979 and remain in place for 2024. The action will be covered on BBC television, BBC Radio 5 Live and the BBC iPlayer.

Since 2018, Amazon Prime Video has also broadcast from The Queen's Club in the UK.

Queen's Club Championships prize money

The 121st edition of the Queen's Club Championships is set to have a prize fund of €2,255,655.

Queen's Club Championships history

Some version of the event has been staged at the current venue since 1890 and it has stood the test of time, with interruptions only during the two World Wars.

From 1977 it has been called the Queens Club Championships and it is currently an ATP Tour 500 series tournament.

Queen's Club Championships past winners

Britain's Andy Murray is the most successful players at Queen's with five wins - in 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2016.

Seven men have won four singles titles; Major Ritchie, Anthony Wilding, Roy Emerson, John McEnroe, Boris Becker, Lleyton Hewitt and Andy Roddick.

Other famous winners include Rod Laver, Jimmy Connors, Stefan Edberg, Pete Sampras and Rafael Nadal.

In Murray's record breaking fifth title win things did not look good for the Scot. Canada's Milos Raonic took the first set and led 3-0 in the second, but Murray rallied to win 6-7 6-4 6-3.

Ivan Lendl won the event in both 1989 and 1990, his first success coming five years after McEnroe had collected his fourth and final crown.

Lendl and McEnroe met 33 times in their careers and their battles were an enduring image of the 1980s and early 1990s. Their only Queen's clash was in 1990, with Lendl winning 6-2 6-4 in the last four before defeating Becker in the final.

Queen's Club Championships field

Defending champion Alcaraz is the headline act. The Spaniard won his maiden French Open title this month, defeating Alexander Zverev in five sets at Roland Garros.

He's set to be joined by fellow top-ten ranked players Alex de Minaur and Grigor Dimitrov in London.

A stellar field is set to contain eight of the world's top 20, with American trio Taylor Fritz, Tommy Paul and Ben Shelton joining European contenders Holger Rune and Ugo Humbert on the famous lawns of Queen's Club.

As ever, those competing at Queen's will be holding twin aspirations - the chance to add their names to an illustrious roll of honour at the London venue and, of course, putting the final touches to their preparations for Wimbledon.

The SW19 Grand Slam takes place a mere four miles from Queen's Club.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.