Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket

One-Day Cup: Date, schedule, history & betting odds

The One-Day Cup is a 50-over competition played by the 18 first-class counties across England and Wales.

The tournament was first played in 2014 and takes place annually between the start of August and the middle of September.

Leicestershire are the current holders after winning their first title in 2023.

The Foxes beat Hampshire by two runs in the final at Trent Bridge off the final ball of the match.

What2024 One-Day Cup
WhenAugust and September 2024
How to watchSky Sports Cricket

What is the One-Day Cup?

The One-Day Cup is a 50-over round-robin competition featuring the 18 first-class counties who contest the four-day County Championship.

It was first played in 2014, replacing the ECB 40, which saw each team allocated 40-over innings per match. The organisers increased the number of overs to 50 to bring it in line with one-day internationals.

The One-Day Cup is the latest 50-over tournament to be organised by the ECB, following on from the likes of the Benson & Hedges Cup and Friends Provident Trophy.

Where will the One-Day Cup be played?

The One-Day Cup will be played at a variety of venues across the country. The final was held at Lord's until 2020, when it was moved to Trent Bridge.

When is the One-Day Cup played?

The One-Day Cup has found a regular space in the calendar, usually starting on the first week of August and running into the middle weekend in September.

The 2023 One-Day Cup began on the 1st August with the final taking place on 16th September.

The dates for the 2024 edition have yet to be released.

Where can I watch the One-Day Cup?

Selected games from the One-Day Cup are broadcast on Sky Sports Cricket.

What is the format for the One-Day Cup?

The 18 counties are separated into two divisions of nine teams, Group A and Group B, with the teams playing each other once in a round-robin format.

Each group winner progresses straight to the semi-finals, while the teams who finish second and third advance to the quarter-finals, with the runner-up in Group A hosting third in Group B and vice-versa.

The victors then face the two group winners before the winners of each semi-final go on to play in the final.

Who won the last edition of the One-Day Cup?

Leicestershire were crowned One-Day Cup champions for the first time in 2023 as they beat Hampshire in a dramatic final at Trent Bridge.

Batting first, the Foxes scored 267-7 from their 50 overs, with Harry Swindells scoring an unbeaten century.

Hants were on course to chase down their target at the midway point of their innings, but an inspired fightback from Leics' bowlers saw the Foxes triumph by just two runs off the final ball of the match.

Who has won the One-Day Cup on the most occasions?

Remarkably, Leicestershire's victory saw them become the ninth different county to win the One-Day Cup since its inception in 2014.

Durham were the inaugural champions, with Gloucester (2015), Warwickshire (2016), Nottinghamshire (2017), Hampshire (2018), Somerset (2019), Glamorgan (2021) and Kent (2022) taking the honours.

Surrey and Hampshire have each appeared in three finals, but only the latter, in 2018, have lifted the title.

Who scored the most runs in the 2023 One-Day Cup?

Warwickshire's Ed Barnard was the leading run-scorer in the 2023 One-Day Cup, scoring 616 runs from his nine innings at an average of 77.00.

Somerset batter Andrew Umeed compiled only three runs less than Barnard, with 613 from eight knocks, while Gloucestershire youngster Ollie Price was third on the 2023 runscorer charts with 575 from ten innings.

Who took the most wickets in the 2023 One-Day Cup?

Warwickshire seamer Oliver Hannon-Dalbt took the most wickets in 2023, claiming 24 scalps in nine matches at a miserly average of 13.40.

Veteran Chris Wright weighed in with 18 wickets, including two in the final, for champions Leicestershire, the same number as Hampshire medium-pacer Ian Holland.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.