Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Le Mans
  1. Motorsports

24 Hours of Le Mans: Start date, how to watch, past winners, history & more

Forming a third of the Triple Crown of Motorsport, the 24 Hours of Le Mans is regarded as one of the most prestigious races in the world.

A contest focused on endurance, the race has no fixed distance and rather than the winner being determined by the lowest time to complete a circuit, the 24 Hours of Le Mans is won by the car that achieves the greatest distance in 24 hours.

Travelling at speeds of up to 227mph, the race is the ultimate test of a driver’s mental fortitude and on the endurance of the car itself to go the greatest distance to beat the competition.

First raced all the way back in 1923, the event is one of the most highly-anticipated races in all of motorsport.

Most teams use three drivers over the course of this high-speed race, which draws the attention of fans from across the globe.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

24 Hours of Le Mans date

The 92nd 24 Hours of Le Mans will take place from 15:00 on 15th June to 15:00 on June 16th, 2024.

24 Hours of Le Mans venue

The race will be run at the traditional venue at the Circuit de la Sarthe in Le Mans, France.

Opened 101 years ago in May 1923, the current configuration of the track means the Circuit de la Sarthe is 8.467 miles in distance.

24 Hours of Le Mans how to watch

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is available to watch in the UK on Eurosport and can also be purchased through TNT Sports.

24 Hours of Le Mans previous winners

French duo of Andre Lagache and Rene Leonard were the very first winners of the 24 Hours of Le Mans for team Chenard & Walcker SA back in 1923. The duo drove 1372.942 miles in that time.

Danish driver Tom Kristensen holds the record for the most 24 Hours of Le Mans wins, having claimed the title nine times in his career.

The Dane's last title came back in 2013, as he claimed the victory alongside Scotland’s Allan McNish for Audi Sport Team Joest.

Last year's 24 Hours of Le Mans was won by the trio of James Calado (GBR), Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA) and Alessandro Pier Guidi (ITA) for Ferrari - AF Corse.

With 45 titles, the UK tops the standings when it comes to victories by nationality, while France is in second place with 42.

Germany has produced 31 winners, with Italy at 20 and the United States at 19.

24 Hours of Le Mans 2024 favourites

Despite winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans last year, the pressure is on the trio of Calado, Giovinazzi and Pier Guidi to repeat the feat for Ferrari this year.

The trio sit down in ninth place in the 2024 World Endurance Championship, with a fourth-place finish in Spa-Francorchamps their best return of the campaign so far.

Kamui Kobayashi, Mike Conway and Nyck de Vries for Toyota managed to win in Imola this year and should be in contention at Le Mans.

The Porsche Penske trio of Kevin Estre, Andre Lotterer and Laurens Vanthoor, and the Team Jota Porsche duo of Callum Ilott and Will Stevens have also won races this season.

Considering the spread of race wins in the campaign so far and the very nature of the gruelling endurance race where anything can happen, it's once again all to play for at the 24 Hours of Le Mans this year.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.