Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Mosconi Cup
  1. More Sports & News

Mosconi Cup: Dates, schedule, history & more

The Mosconi Cup, known as the Ryder Cup of Pool, is an annual nine-ball pool tournament between Europe and the United States which has been delighting crowds and TV audiences on either side of the Atlantic since 1994.

The US used to dominate the four-day showpiece but now it's Europe's turn, as they will head into the 2024 competition having triumphed in each of the last three years and in 12 of the previous 14 events.

What is the Mosconi Cup?

The Mosconi Cup is an annual nine-ball pool match between players from Europe and the USA, named after the legendary 18-time world champion Willie Mosconi, who died in 1993, a year before this competition was played for the first time.

Mosconi Cup dates

The Mosconi Cup has been held in late November or December ever since it started.

The 2024 tournament, which will also be the 31st edition, will be held at the Caribe Royale Resort in Orlando, Florida from Sunday 30th November - Tuesday 3rd December.

Mosconi Cup how to watch

Every session of the 2024 Mosconi Cup will be screened live on Sky Sports.

Who competes in the Mosconi Cup?

The Mosconi Cup is contested between Europe and the United States with both teams selecting five players, as well as a non-playing captain.

Three players from each team will qualify based on the World Nineball Rankings one-year list, while the remaining two places on each side are selected on a wildcard basis.

Mosconi Cup format

There are 21 points up for grabs which means a team needs to win 11 points to be crowned champions.

The first three days feature a team event - all 10 players at the table - followed by a succession of singles and doubles matches, two of which are chosen by a public vote.

The final day features five singles matches and if the match score is tied at 10-10, the captains pick a player to contest the deciding match.

Each match is best-of-nine racks, so effectively a race to five racks.

Who won last year's Mosconi Cup?

Europe completed their fourth successive win in 2013 as they cruised to an 11-3 victory at Alexandra Palace in London.

Ralph Eckert’s team made a strong start by winning all four of the matches on the opening day, which included a 5-0 win for Joshua Filler, who was voted the tournament’s most valuable player, over Skyler Woodward.

They showed no signs of easing up as they ended the second day 7-1 ahead and, despite a third-day rally from the Americans, they claimed victory when David Alcaide edged out Shane Wolford 5-4 in the final match.

2024 Mosconi Cup odds

The odds are yet to be published for the 2024 Mosconi Cup, but Europe will be expected to be favourites after their strong results in recent tournaments.

Prices will become available closer to the first day of competition, which is scheduled for Sunday 30th November.

How has the Mosconi Cup evolved?

The first Mosconi Cup was held at the Roller Bowl in Romford with six-time world snooker champion Steve Davis among the inaugural European team.

It was the US who won that match 16-12, part one of a decade or so of dominance, as by 2005 the Americans held a 10-2 edge over Europe.

The change came the next year, a 12-12 draw in Rotterdam in which the host continent blew a 12-10 lead, but it confirmed to them that the Americans were beatable.

The very next year a strong European team, featuring nine-ball legends such as Ralf Souquet, Niels Feijen and Daryl Peach, went to Vegas and beat an awesome American side containing the incomparable Earl Strickland, Jonny Archer and Rodney Morris.

It was the first time the Americans had been beaten on their own turf and it was a truly transformational moment.

Europe has now won 14 of the last 17 Mosconi Cups, including a never-to-be-forgotten 11-2 destruction of the Americans at the Mirage in Las Vegas in 2013, when Strickland and his team-mates were swept aside in just two-and-a-half days.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.