Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Kentucky Derby
  1. Horse Racing

Kentucky Derby 2024: Date, post-time, odds and past winners

The Kentucky Derby is the first leg of America's Triple Crown and it takes place each year at Churchill Downs racecourse on the first Saturday in May.

View Latest Odds

Dubbed the 'Run for the Roses' - stemming from the blanket of roses draped over the winner – the Kentucky Derby was first run in 1875. 

It is dubbed the most exciting two minutes in sport by American audiences and is open to three-year-olds horses (male and female) though it is largely contested by colts, with fillies normally heading to the Kentucky Oaks instead. 

When is the 2024 Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is run in Louisville, Kentucky on the first Saturday in May – the 2024 race will be the 150th renewal and will take place on 4th May, at 23:24 UK Time. 

Where is the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is run at the world-famous Churchill Downs racecourse on Central Avenue in South Louisville, Kentucky – the place it has called home since first being run in 1875.

The Derby is run over a mile-and-a-quarter trip on the left-handed Dirt surface at Churchill Downs and it carries a purse in the region $3,000,000.

Where can I watch the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby will be shown via the bet365 live sports streaming service, while punters can also catch the action from Churchill Downs live on Sky Sports Racing in the UK. 

Who is the most successful Kentucky Derby trainer?

That honour is held jointly by Ben Jones (1938, 1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952) and Bob Baffert (1997, 1998, 2002, 2015, 2018, 2020). 

Jones' wins came with Lawrin, Whirlaway, Pensive, Citation, Ponder and Hill Gail - with Whirlaway and Citation going on to win the Triple Crown. 

Baffert's maiden win came via Silver Charm in 1997 and he's scored since with Real Quiet, War Emblem, American Pharoah, Justify and Authentic - with American Pharoah and Justify giving him two Triple Crown winners in four years.

Related Horse Racing News

Royal Ascot: Dates, TV schedule & odds

Epsom Oaks: Date, how to watch, past winners, latest odds & more

Who is the most successful Kentucky Derby jockey?

The record is shared by Eddie Arcaro (1938, 1941, 1945, 1948, 1952) and Bill Hartack (1957, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1969) with five wins apiece.

Calvin Borel managed three wins in four years from 2007 – a record – while John Velazquez (2011, 2017, 2020) has a treble under his belt in modern times.  

Which horse ran the fastest ever Kentucky Derby?

The race was once run over a mile-and-a-half and, in that era, Spokane's times of 2:34:05 in 1889 was the fastest. 

Since The Derby was moved to ten furlongs, it is 1973 winner Secretariat that holds the record, stopping the clock in an impressive 1:59:40 - as yet the only winner to break the two-minute barrier. 

Secretariat is regarded as an all-time American racing great, going on to complete the Triple Crown in that outstanding three-year-old season.

What is the greatest Kentucky Derby upset?

The 1913 Kentucky Derby was won by Donerail at odds 91/1 for trainer Thomas P Hayes, based at nearby Lexington, Kentucky with Roscoe Goose in the saddle. 

An Honourable mention in this category goes to Mine That Bird, the 50/1 winner in 2009 under Calvin Borel for trainer Bennie Woolley Jr. 

Borel and Mine That Bird came from second-last on the home bend with a daring run up the rail, making their final challenge through an unlikely gap that resulted in the racecourse commentator missing the move completely as they led by three lengths before he caught sight of the paint-hugging winner.

Which horses have won the Kentucky Derby most recently?

Here are the winners of the Run for the Roses since 2010.

2010Super SaverCalvin BorelTodd Pletcher
2011Animal KingdomJohn VelazquezH. Graham Motion
2012I'll Have AnotherMario GutierrezDoug O'Neill
2013OrbJoel RosarioClaude McGaughey III
2014California ChromeVictor EspinozaArt Sherman
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob Baffert
2016NyquistMario GutierrezDoug O'Neill
2017Always DreamingJohn VelazquezDoug O'Neill
2018JustifyMike SmithBob Baffert
2019Country HouseFlavien PratBill Mott
2020AuthenticJohn VelazquezBob Baffert
2021MandalounFlorent GerouxBrad Cox
2022Rich Strike Sonny LeonEric Reed
2023MageJavier CastellanoGustavo Delgado

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.