Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
Indian Wells Tennis Garden
  1. Tennis

Indian Wells Masters: Start date, how to watch, latest odds & more

March is an action-packed month on the tennis calendar and it gets underway with a bang as the best players on the planet head to California to compete for silverware at the Indian Wells Masters.

View Latest Odds

This is the first of four Premier Mandatory events to take place this season and its heavyweight status means it carries great significance in terms of the world rankings on both the ATP and WTA Tours.

We have compiled a list of questions to tell you all you need to know about this key hardcourt event.

WhatIndian Wells Masters 2024
WhereIndian Wells Tennis Garden, California
WhenMarch 2024 (Tournament dates TBC)
How to watchbet365 Sports Live Streaming and Amazon Prime

Where is the Indian Wells Masters?

Also known as the Indian Wells Open or BNP Paribas Open, this annual tennis tournament takes place at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, California, United States.

The location, which was built in 2000, has 29 tennis courts, which includes a 16,000-seat main stadium. That is the second largest tennis-specific stadium in the world behind the Arthur Ashe Stadium at Flushing Meadows.

When is the Indian Wells Masters?

The Indian Wells takes place every March, with the dates for the 2024 edition of the tournament yet to be confirmed.

How much prize money is on offer at the Indian Wells Masters?

The winners of the men's and women's events will both take home $1,262,220, with the runners-up collecting $662,360.

The ATP and WTA events will have equal total prize money of $8,800.000.

Can I watch the Indian Wells Masters

The Indian Wells Masters will be broadcast on Amazon Prime in the UK, while action can also be followed via our Sports Live Streaming platform.

Who has won the Indian Wells Masters on the most occasions?

Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic have won the men's Indian Wells Masters the most, each claiming the title five times.

The now-retired Federer won the event in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2012 and 2017, while Djokovic will be looking for a record sixth success, having triumphed in 2008, 2011, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

In contrast, the record number of Indian Wells Masters titles for the women's tournament is shared by nine players.

Martina Navratilova, Mary Joe Fernandez, Steffi Graf, Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams, Kim Clijsters, Daniela Hantuchova, Maria Sharapova and Victoria Azarenka have all won the tournament twice.

Related Tennis News

Tennis: Five breakout stars to watch on the ATP Tour

Tennis: Five breakout stars to watch on the WTA Tour

British Grand Slam hopes in 2023: More to come from Emma Raducanu?

How many players compete at the Indian Wells Masters?

Both tournaments feature 96 players, including 32 seeds and 12 qualifiers.

Who is playing at the Indian Wells Masters?

The Indian Wells Masters is widely regarded as one of the biggest non-Grand Slam events on the tennis calendar, with all of the top ranked male and female players typically taking part if fit and healthy.

The main stadium at Indian Wells holds a capacity of 16,000 - the second biggest arena in the sport behind the Arthur Ashe Stadium in Flushing Meadows - which adds to the tournament's allure for tennis' biggest stars.

The full line-up of players for the 2024 tournament will become clearer nearer to the time it kicks off.

Who are the defending champions at the Indian Wells Masters?

The biggest rising star of the men's game, Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz, came away with the title in Indian Wells in 2023 to regain his world number one status over Novak Djokovic.

After suffering from injury at the start of the year and forced to withdraw from the Australian Open, the 19-year-old was in outstanding form in California where he defeated Daniil Medvedev 6-3 6-2 in the final.

As for the women's competition, there was to be no Indian Wells title defence for dominant world number one Iga Swiatek, with Kazakhstan's Elena Rybakina getting revenge over Aryna Sabalenka having lost to the Belarusian in the final of the Australian Open in January.

Reigning Wimbledon champion Rybakina prevailed 7-6 6-4 in the Indian Wells final to record her first ever victory against current world number two Sabalenka in five attempts.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.