Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Golf
  2. U.S. Open

US Open: Date, course, previous winners & how to watch

The US Open is the third Major championship on golf's calendar and is traditionally the most challenging for the players.

The 72-hole stroke-play tournament is one of the most prestigious in the world and the elite of golf will be aiming to get their hands on the US Open trophy.

US Open courses are typically set up extremely difficult and this event is considered one of the biggest tests a golfer can face in their career.

When is the US Open?

The tournament starts on Thursday 15th June, and is scheduled to conclude on Sunday 18th June.

Where is the US Open?

The US Open will take place on the North Course at Los Angeles Country Club in California. This will be the first Major that has been staged at this course. There has not been a Major in the Los Angeles area for 28 years and there has not been a US Open in LA for 75 years.

The North Course hosted the Los Angeles Open in 1926, 1934, 1935, 1936 and 1940. The Walker Cup – an amateur team event between USA and Great Britain and Ireland – was at the North Course in 2017.

Scottie Scheffler, Collin Morikawa, Will Zalatoris, Maverick McNealy, Cameron Champ and Doc Redman were on the USA team that week, while Robert MacIntyre teed it up for Great Britain and Ireland.

A field of 156 will go to post for the US Open.

Who is the reigning US Open champion?

Matt Fitzpatrick won his first Major title in last year's US Open at The Country Club in Brookline, Massachusetts.

The Englishman hit his drive into a bunker at the 72nd hole of the tournament, but recovered with an amazing approach shot to the green, defeating Scheffler and Zalatoris by a shot.

Can I watch the US Open?

You can follow the US Open on bet365's Live Golf Tracker, while Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Golf provide TV coverage.

How many times has the US Open taken place?

This year's edition of the US Open will be the 123rd. The first took place in 1895 with Englishman Horace Rawlins taking the title and the tournament has been played in its current format since 1898.

The only years the event was not played were during the World Wars (1917, 1918, 1942, 1943, 1944 and 1945).

Who has won the US Open on the most occasions?

Four players have won the US Open on four occasions, a feat that was most recently achieved by Jack Nicklaus in 1962, 1967, 1972 and 1980.

The other three players to win the tournament four times are Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones and Ben Hogan.

What is the record for best performance at the US Open?

Tiger Woods won the 2000 US Open by 15 shots, an all-time record for all Majors. Rory McIlroy shot the lowest score for 72 holes, 268, when winning the 2011 edition. His 16-under par effort was matched by Brooks Koepka at the 2017 event.

What is the US Open purse?

The total prize money for the last US Open was $17.5million, with $3.15m going to the champion.

Official prize money is announced the week of the tournament.

Can the US Open be rained out?

Although the US Open takes place in June in an attempt to minimise the chances of weather affecting the event, it has been known to do so.

Heavy rain hampered the 2009 edition and the delays due to the weather meant the tournament was not completed until Monday, with Lucas Glover eventually securing a two-shot victory.

What are the odds for this year's event?

Scheffler started June as the US Open favourite, with a 7/1 quote against his name.

Jon Rahm, the 2021 US Open champion, went into US Open month as an 8/1 chance, while McIlroy, who triumphed in the 2011 edition, can be backed at 9/1.

The defending champion, Fitzpatrick, is not being rated as likely to retain his title – the pride of Sheffield is on offer at 33/1.

There are two PGA Tour events in June prior to the US Open, so the sport's best players can fine-tune their game in those tournaments in a bid to peak for the Major.

June starts with the Memorial Tournament in Dublin, Ohio, where all of the world's top five will tee up, then that is followed by the Canadian Open, which will feature fewer superstars.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.