Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. WSL

Women's Super League: Dates, teams, venues, history & more

The 2024/25 Women's Super League season kicks off on Saturday 21st September, with Chelsea aiming for a record-extending eighth title.

Arsenal, Manchester City and Manchester United are among the challengers hoping to dethrone the Blues and become champions of the top division of English football.

Women's Super League dates

The 2024/25 Women's Super League season starts on Saturday 21st September 2024 and the final round of fixtures takes place on Sunday 11th May 2025.

Women's Super League teams

Chelsea clinched a record-extending seventh title in the 2023/24 campaign, which was also their fifth in a row, but there will be a new face in the dugout after the departure of Emma Hayes.

Sonia Bompastor has been tasked with continuing the Blues' dominance, but there will be stiff competition from Manchester City, who finished runners-up last season.

Arsenal and Manchester United are also expected to be in the mix, while Aston Villa, Brighton, Crystal Palace, Everton, Leicester, Liverpool, Tottenham and West Ham make up the division.

Women's Super League how to watch

Every match of the 2024/25 season will be available to watch on BBC iPlayer, with a minimum of 18 games being shown live across BBC One and BBC Two.

Sky Sports will also show up to 44 games, the most of any broadcaster.

Women's Super League format

The 12 teams in the Women's Super League play each other once at home and once away. Three points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss.

After 22 matches the team with the most points are crowned champions. If clubs are level on points, goal difference and then goals scored will be used to determine who finishes higher in the table.

The champions qualify for the Champions League group stage, while the runners-up go into the second round of qualifying for the tournament and the third-place team enter at the first qualification stage.

The club which finishes 12th is relegated to the Championship.

Women's Super League history

The 2024/25 Women's Super League is the 14th season of the competition. The WSL replaced the FA Women's Premier League National Division in 2011 and Arsenal were the inaugural champions.

Arsenal forward Vivianne Miedema is the all-time top scorer in the WSL, racking up 80 goals from 106 appearances to put her six clear of Tottenham's Bethany England.

Women's Super League previous winners

Chelsea have been the dominant force in the Women's Super League, winning the title on seven occasions. Their first triumph came in 2015 and they also won the league in 2017/18, before racking up five titles in a row between 2019/20 and 2023/24.

Another London club, Arsenal, are the next most successful club in WSL history, topping the table in 2011, 2012 and 2019, while Liverpool were crowned champions in 2013 and 2014.

Manchester City, in 2016, are the only other club to have won the Women's Super League in its first 12 seasons.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.