Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football

Spanish Super Cup: Dates, history, teams, how to watch & more

The Spanish Super Cup, or Supercopa de Espana, is an annual competition first played in 1982.

It was previously a two-team event between the winners of the previous season's Copa del Rey and La Liga, or in the case of a domestic double, the team that finished second in the league, similar to the English Community Shield. 

However, it was extended to four teams for 2019/20, with the runners-up in the Copa del Rey and La Liga also included. Again, if a team falls into the same category, the invitation is extended to the side that ends the previous campaign third in La Liga. 

Barcelona are the defending champions after claiming a record-extending 14th title, beating Real Betis on penalties in last season's semi-finals, before defeating Real Madrid 3-1 in the final. 

The Blaugrana will defend their title, while Real, Atletico Madrid and Osasuna are also involved in this season's renewal.

Spanish Super Cup Date

The Spanish Super Cup used to be played as a pre-season double-header between the champions of the previous campaign's Copa del Rey and La Liga.

However, the decision to expand the competition to four teams prompted a move in the calendar to January to help avoid further fixture congestion for the competing teams.

The 2023/24 Spanish Super Cup will take part between Wednesday 10th January and Sunday 14th January.

The semi-finals will be held on the 10th and 11th, with the final on the 14th.

Spanish Super Cup Venue

Since 2019/20, the competition has been held in Saudi Arabia, barring in 2020/21 when it took place across three venues in Andalusia.

The 2023/24 competition will again be in Saudi, with Riyadh's King Saud University Stadium, also known as the Al-Awwal Park, hosting both the semi-finals and the final.

Spanish Super Cup Times

All three fixtures in the Spanish Super Cup will be staged at 19:00 UK time.

Spanish Super Cup How to watch

There are currently no options for watching the Spanish Super Cup for UK viewers.

Last season's tournament was shown on TNT Sports but it appears they have not come to an agreement to renew their broadcast rights.

Spanish Super Cup Teams

TeamMethod of Qualification
Real Madrid2022/23 Copa de Rey winners
Barcelona2022/23 La Liga winners
Osasuna2022/23 Copa de Rey runners-up
Atletico Madrid2022/23 La Liga third-place finishers

This season's Spanish Super Cup features holders Barcelona, Madrid clubs Real and Atletico, and also Osasuna.

Barca return to defend their title and qualified via winning the 2022/23 La Liga title.

Copa del Rey champions Real go in search of their 13th success and are joined by the team they beat in last season's domestic final, debutants Osasuna.

Los Blancos' status as last season's Copa del Rey winners and La Liga runners-up meant the invitation was extended to the team that finished third in last season's La Liga, two-time winners Atletico.

Spanish Super Cup odds

Real and Atletico open the tournament on Wednesday, with Real 1/1 to win in 90 minutes, while the draw is 12/5 and Los Colchoneros 11/4.

Atleti won the pair's last meeting in September 3-1, a scoreline that is 28/1 to be repeated. Alvaro Morata scored twice in that match and is 9/4 to again net against his former club.

Barcelona and Osasuna then meet on Thursday, with Barca 2/5 to win, while a draw is 17/4 and Osasuna available to be backed at 11/2.

Youngster Vitor Roque could be a player to watch after featuring in the La Liga win over Las Palmas and Copa del Rey success at Barbastro following his move from Athletico Paranaense. The Brazilian teenager is 7/5 in the anytime market to net his first goal for the club.

Spanish Super Cup Most Victories

As mentioned above, Barcelona have won the most Spanish Super Cups, claiming the title on 14 occasions.

Inevitably, Real are their nearest rivals with 12 wins, the most recent coming in 2021/22, while Athletic Bilbao (1984, 2015 and 2021) and Deportivo La Coruna (1995, 2000 and 2002) are joint-third with three victories each.

Atletico have triumphed twice, in 1985 and 2014, while Valencia (1999), Sevilla (2007), Zaragoza (2004), Mallorca (1998) and Real Sociedad (1982) have all lifted the Super Cup on one occasion.

Any odds displayed were correct at the time of writing and are subject to fluctuation.


Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.