Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
MS Dhoni
  1. Cricket
  2. International Cricket

Cricket World Cup 2023: Previous Winners

The 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup takes place this autumn with five of the previous six winners heading to India to battle it out.

The competition's maiden champions West Indies will be notably absent from the forthcoming edition of the World Cup after shockingly failing to qualify.

Australia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and reigning champions England will all be there though, alongside New Zealand and South Africa, who will be bidding to break their duck at the tournament.

What2023 Cricket World Cup
WhereVarious stadiums across India
WhenThursday 5th October - Sunday 19th November
How to watchSky Sports
OddsIndia 11/5, England 3/1, Australia 4/1, Pakistan 7/1, New Zealand 15/2, South Africa 10/1

Baggy Greens good at bagging World Cup gold

Currently sat atop the ICC's one-day rankings are Australia, who reclaimed top spot after a 50-over series win against India in the sub-continent last March.

The two powerhouse teams will clash again in September in another three-match series ahead of the World Cup starting and another strong showing there will set the Aussies up nicely for a run at an unprecedented sixth World Cup win.

No other country has won more than two World Cups with the Baggy Greens enjoying a remarkable spell of dominance from 1999 onwards.

Australia won their first title in 1987 - the first World Cup to feature the 50-over format - beating Ashes rivals England by seven runs in the final.

They made the final again in 1996, losing to Sri Lanka, before a run of three successive World Cup wins from 1999 onwards.

They had some luck along the way, most memorably in their 1999 semi-final win over South Africa when a mix up between Lance Klusener and Allan Donald gave Australia a place in the final.

But there were plenty of class operators in the squad with record wicket-taker Glen McGrath, Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist winning three World Cups as part of an Australia team that strung together 27 wins in the tournament.

Australia's most recent World Cup win came on home soil in 2015 and this new generation of Baggy Greens is 4/1 to add to their haul this year.

India and Pakistan not living up to potential

Outside of the Aussies, India and West Indies are the only other nations with multiple World Cups, although the Windies haven't won one since 1979. 

For a cricket-mad nation such as India, two wins doesn't feel like enough. Those victories came 28 years apart too with India winning their first title in 1983.

They nearly went through the entire career of Sachin Tendulkar, the highest run scorer in World Cup history, without winning the top prize, only to lift the trophy in his final tournament in 2011.

They are the 11/5 favourites to claim a third title this autumn having been tough to beat on home soil in white ball cricket in recent years.

However, fierce rivals Pakistan will be determined to ruin India's chances as they chase what would be a second world title.

They've struggled in recent World Cups, going out in the group stage in three of the last five tournaments, but were once a fearsome foe.

With 'the Sultan of Swing' Wasim Akram leading the side, Pakistan triumphed in the 1992 World Cup, the first to see coloured kits and a white ball used. 

Akram took a tournament-best 18 wickets and nearly guided them to a second title in 1999 when skipper, only to see his Pakistan side hammered by Australia in the final.

England finally deliver ODI success

Of the four sub-continent teams competing this autumn, only Bangladesh don't have a win to their name with Sri Lanka lifting the trophy in 1996.

Their four-pronged spin attack benefitted from friendly conditions, while the team were also handed a couple of walkovers as the island nation became the first host or co-host to win the tournament. 

Hosts winning the World Cup has since become commonplace with the last three winners having either been the host or co-host, including England in 2019.

England had been runners-up three times previously but finally got over the line in the most recent final at Lord's, albeit by the skin of their teeth.

An unbeaten 84 from Ben Stokes saw England tie the final against New Zealand, themselves looking for a first World Cup, and send the title decider to a Super Over.

With the scores still level after the Super Over, England won the World Cup thanks to their superior boundary count in the final.

Having won the Twenty20 World Cup last year, England appear to have a taste for white-ball cricket after so many years of struggle and are 3/1 to retain their 50-over title.

1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.