Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. ODI World Cup

Cricket World Cup 2027: Date, teams, history & more

Australia extended their impressive Cricket World Cup record in 2023 and they will be targeting a seventh title at the 2027 tournament in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia.

The Aussies lifted the trophy in Johannesburg in 2003, the last time the World Cup was held in Africa, and can expect stiff competition from India, who lost the 2023 final in Ahmedabad by six wickets.

Cricket World Cup 2027 Dates

The 2027 Cricket World Cup is scheduled to take place in October and November 2027.

Cricket World Cup 2027 Venues

The 2027 Cricket World Cup will be co-hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia. It will be the second time that the tournament has been staged in Africa.

In 2003, when South Africa hosted the World Cup along with Zimbabwe and Kenya, the final took place at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg where Australia beat India by 125 runs.

Cricket World Cup 2027 Format

There will be a change to the World Cup format in 2027 as the tournament is expanded from 10 teams to 14. Co-hosts South Africa and Zimbabwe qualify automatically along with the top eight teams in the ICC ODI rankings on 31st March 2027. The other four spots will be decided by ICC Qualifier tournaments.

At the World Cup, the 14 teams will be divided into two groups of seven. Each team plays the other six sides in their group on a round-robin basis and the top three qualify for the Super Six stage, which will then determine the semi-finalists.

Cricket World Cup 2027 How to watch

The broadcasting details for the 2027 World Cup will be confirmed nearer the time but in 2023 every match of the tournament was available to watch on bet365's Sports Live Streaming as well as Sky Sports Cricket, Sky Sports Main Event or Sky Sports Mix.

Cricket World Cup History

The 2027 World Cup will be the 14th edition of the tournament. The inaugural event was held in England in 1975 and the most recent running took place in India in 2023.

Australia are the most successful team in the history of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, winning the event on six occasions and appearing in eight finals.

The Aussies lost the first World Cup final in 1975 to the West Indies, going down by 17 runs, and they had to wait until 1987 to get their hands on the trophy.

Australia won three consecutive World Cups between 1999 and 2007, before landing a fifth title in 2015 when they beat tournament co-hosts New Zealand in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

India have won the World Cup twice, in 1983 and 2011, but they were beaten by Australia by six wickets in the 2023 final in Ahmedabad.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.