Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. Bundesliga

Bundesliga: Dates, teams, history & betting odds

The Bundesliga is one of Europe's top five leagues, with many of the world's best players playing their football in the German top-flight.

Last season, Bayer Leverkusen made history as they won the Bundesliga title for the first time in their 120-year history.

Xabi Alonso's team secured the title with five games to spare as they won 5-0 against Werder Bremen before they then won the DFB-Pokal.

Leverkusen also reached the Europa League final before losing to Atalanta, and the pressure will be on them to keep Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich at bay.

Bundesliga dates

The 2024/25 Bundesliga season begins on Friday 23rd August 2024 and will come to an end on Sunday 17th May 2025.

Bundesliga teams

Bundesliga is the men's top professional football division in Germany, and it is contested by 18 teams.

Cologne and Darmstadt 98 were relegated last season and were replaced by St Pauli and Holstein Kiel.

Holstein Kiel will make their debut in the German top flight, while St Pauli return after a thirteen-year absence.

Here are the list of teams that will compete in the 2024/25 Bundesliga campaign.

  • Augsburg
  • Union Berlin
  • Bochum
  • Werder Bremen
  • Borussia Dortmund
  • Eintracht Frankfurt
  • SC Freiburg
  • FC Heidenheim
  • TSG Hoffenheim
  • Holstein Kiel
  • RB Leipzig
  • Bayer Leverkusen
  • Mainz
  • Borussia Monchengladbach
  • Bayern Munich
  • St Pauli
  • VfB Stuttgart
  • Wolfsburg

Bundesliga venues/stadiums

The Bundesliga has 18 teams which play each other twice across the season to determine their final placings.

Here is the list of stadiums that will be used in Bundesliga for the 2024/25 season.


WWK Arena

Union Berlin

Stadion An der Alten Forsterei


Vonovia Ruhrstadion

Werder Bremen


Borussia Dortmund

Signal Iduna Park

Eintracht Frankfurt

Deutsche Bank Park

SC Freiburg

Europa-Park Stadion

FC Heidenheim


TSG Hoffenheim

PreZero Arena

Holstein Kiel


RB Leipzig

Red Bull Arena

Bayer Leverkusen



Mewa Arena

Borussia Monchengladbach


Bayern Munich

Allianz Arena

St Pauli


VfB Stuttgart



Volkswagen Arena

Bundesliga how to watch

The action can be followed on bet365's European Soccer Live Streaming Highlights, while select games are available to watch on Sky Sports.

Bundesliga history

Before the creation of the Bundesliga, German football was played at an amateur level in several sub-regional leagues.

In 1949, a part-time setup was introduced, before the Bundesliga was founded in August 1963. After German reunification in 1990, the East German leagues merged into the West German system, and the league has remained that way ever since.

Bayern Munich have won the most Bundesliga titles with 32 successes.

The top four teams qualify for the Champions League while the fifth-placed team will qualify for the Europa League group stage and the sixth team will reach the Europa Conference League play-off round, barring results in the DFB Pokal.

The bottom two teams are automatically relegated, while the 16th-placed side face a relegation play-off against the third-placed Bundesliga 2 team.

Bundesliga previous winners


Bundesliga winners


Bayer Leverkusen


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich

Bundesliga favourites

Despite finishing third last season, Bayern Munich are 1/2 to win the Bundesliga this season.

Former Burnley boss Vincent Kompany has stepped into the dugout to fill the void left behind by Thomas Tuchel, but he will be under immense pressure to shine at the biggest club in Germany.

The Bayern board has signed Michael Olise, Joao Palhinha, Hiroki Ito and Bryan Zaragoza to strengthen Kompany's squad.

Alonso has stayed put at Leverkusen, and the additions of Aleix Garcia and Jeanuel Belocian have only strengthened his squad, with the reigning champions available at 5/2.

Nuri Sahin's Borussia Dortmund are as big as 10/1 to win the title, while RB Leipzig are 12/1, suggesting at best, it will be a four-horse race for the crown.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.