Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Tennis
  2. Australian Open

Australian Open: Previous men's winners

The first Grand Slam of the season, the Australian Open, offers the world's best players an early opportunity to add their names to the list of greats who have triumphed at Melbourne Park.

The 2023 tournament begins on Monday, 16th January, where rising star Carlos Alcaraz will be among those bidding to win the men's singles title for the first time, while other superstar names including Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal will aim for further Grand Slam glory.

What: 2023 Australian Open
Where: Melbourne Park, Melbourne, Australia
When: Monday 16th January - Sunday 29th January, 2023
How to watch: Discovery+, bet365 Sports Live Streaming
Odds: Mens - Novak Djokovic 11/10, Carlos Alcaraz 11/2, Daniil Medvedev 13/2, Nick Kyrgios 10/1, Rafael Nadal 11/1, Alexander Zverev 14/1

Who won the 2022 Australian Open men's singles title?

Nadal came from two sets down to defeat then US Open champion Daniil Medvedev 2-6 6-7 6-4 6-4 7-5 in the 2022 Australian Open men's final, the Spanish legend picking up the Melbourne Park title for only the second time in his storied career.

In doing so, Nadal became the first male player to win 21 Grand Slam singles titles, nudging one ahead of his chief rivals Djokovic and Roger Federer before taking his tally to 22 Slam titles at the French Open.

Djokovic, who was unable to participate in the 2022 Australian Open, closed the gap again when he won the Wimbledon title later in the season.

Who are the most successful men's Australian Open winners?

One man has dominated Melbourne Park like no other in the Open era with Djokovic claiming nine of his 21 Grand Slams titles at the Australian Open.

The super Serb tasted Grand Slam success for the first time at the 2008 Australian Open, defeating Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in the final, but in an era dominated by Federer and Nadal, he would have to wait three more years for another Slam victory.

Djokovic defeated Andy Murray in the 2011 final, sparking a period of dominance which saw him claim another seven titles in ten subsequent Melbourne appearances.

Federer is the second-most successful men's Australian Open singles champion of the Open era, claiming six titles including in arguably the most famous Australian Open final of all-time, defeating old rival Nadal 6–4, 3–6, 6–1, 3–6, 6–3 in the 2017 final to claim a first Grand Slam title since Wimbledon 2012.

The Swiss maestro would successfully defend his title in 2018, winning what would turn out to be his 20th and final Grand Slam by beating Marin Cilic in another thrilling five-set final.

Looking slightly further back, US star Andre Agassi chalked up four Australian Open titles from 1995 to 2003 while Sweden's Mats Wilander was another to enjoy success down under, winning three of his seven Slam titles in Australia from 1983 to 1988.

What are the biggest shocks in men's Australian Open history?

Given the dominance of Federer and, in particular, Djokovic over the last two decades, Australian Open shocks have been understandably thin on the ground in recent years.

However, one name stands out on the list of recent men's singles winners - 2014 champion Stan Wawrinka, who downed Nadal to win the first of three Grand Slam titles at monster odds of 80/1.

Since Federer won his first title in 2004, only four men have triumphed at double-digit prices. 

In addition to Wawrinka, Marat Safin won at 13/1 in 2005, Djokovic was an 11/1 shot in 2008, and Federer was considered past his best when winning at 25/1 in 2017.

Related Tennis News

Australian Open: All you need to know

Tennis: Five breakout stars to watch on the ATP Tour

Who are the other previous winners of the men's Australian Open?

Due to its place at the beginning of the season, the best in the world tend to be fresh for the Australian Open and since 2004, only Federer, Nadal and Djokovic have won the men's title more than once, with Safin and Wawrinka chipping in with a victory each.

The tournament moved to its now traditional January slot in 1987, when Sweden's Stefan Edberg defeated home hero Pat Cash in the final - the Aussie would then go on to lose to Wilander the following season.

Since then, Ivan Lendl has won twice, claiming back-to-back titles in 1989 and 1990, while Jim Courier, Pete Sampras and Boris Becker and all dual Aussie Open winners, Becker claiming his last Grand Slam title in the 1996 event.

Between Agassi's first and final victories (1995 and 2003), Petr Korda, Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Thomas Johansson all also got their hands on the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.