Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Soccer
  2. Copa America

Copa America: 2028 dates, possible location, teams, qualification & more

The Copa America is a top level international soccer tournament that sees South America’s top countries, along will special invitees from other continents, play through a group stage and knockout rounds to be crowned champions of the continent.

The 49th edition of the competition is set to take place in 2028.

Argentina are the two-time defending champions having won the 2021 Copa America, 2022 World Cup, and 2024 Copa America.

Continue reading for all you need to know about Copa America 2028, including dates, stadiums, teams, groups, how to watch and more. 

Copa America 2028 start date

The exact start date for the 2028 Copa America is yet to be announced, but the tournament will take place in June and July of that year.

Copa America 2028 teams

All 10 CONMEBOL national teams - Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela - are eligible to enter the tournament. Teams invited as guests for the 2028 edition are yet to be announced.

Copa America 2028 host nation

The host nation for Copa America 2028 has yet to be announced. Ecuador was slated to host the 2024 edition before infrastructure issues in the country saw the tournament moved to the United States.

Ecuador is next in line based on CONMEBOL's host rotation order although the 2028 host nation has not been officially announced.

Copa America 2028 qualification

Ten CONMEBOL countries - Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela - qualify for the tournament automatically.

Since 1993, two national sides from across the world have been invited to participate in the Copa America in order to get the total number of teams up to 12 - these have included the likes of Mexico, Japan and Qatar.

In 2024, CONMEBOL invited six teams from CONCACAF, the North American soccer confederation. The tournament was hosted in the United States, and their team was joined by Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Mexico and Panama as CONCACAF teams who played in the 2024 Copa America.

Who won the last Copa America?

The last edition of the Copa America came in 2024, with Argentina defeating Colombia 1-0 in the final thanks to Lautaro Martinez scoring in extra time. The victory marked Argentina’s second consecutive Copa America championship.

The 2024 win was Argentina's 16th Copa America trophy, breaking the tie with Uruguay, who have won the tournament 15 times.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.