Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NBA

NBA Rookie of the Year: Odds, winners, trophy, when is it awarded

We cover all you need to know about the NBA's Rookie of the Year Award, including the latest odds, past winners, when the award is announced and more.

2023/24 NBA Rookie of the Year favorites

Victor Wembanyama-230 
Chet Holmgren+175 
Brandon Miller+30000 
Jaime Jaquez Jr.+40000 
Scoot Henderson+50000 

Victor Wembanyama -230

It has been musical chairs between Victor Wembanyama and Chet Holmgren when it comes to being favored to win 2023-24 NBA Rookie of the Year.

A recent slump by Holmgren coinciding with continued consistency on Wembanyama’s end has the No. 1 overall pick leading the way right now as a -230 favorite. 

It may understandably take a while for Wembanyama to become a First Team All-NBA performer, but it’s safe to say that he has been as good as advertised so far for the San Antonio Spurs. The 7’4’’ Frenchman is leading his team with 20.6 points, 10.1 rebounds and a league-leading 3.2 blocks per game.

Wembanyama has risen to the occasion on the big stage, too. Against the Phoenix Suns in early November he went for 38 points and 10 rebounds during a 132-121 Spurs upset. He faced the Los Angeles Lakers in mid-December and delivered 30 points, 13 rebounds, six blocks, three steals and two assists, while shooting 4-for-5 from three-point land.

Chet Holmgren +175

Holmgren and Wembanyama will always be linked together and not only because of their physique. Although Holmgren was drafted by the Oklahoma City Thunder in 2022, he missed all of that season due to a Lisfranc injury and is therefore officially in the same rookie class as Wembanyama.

If not for Holmgren, Wemby would be running away with Rookie of the Year honors. Now, though, it’s still a race.

Holmgren is averaging 16.7 points, 7.6 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 2.6 blocks while shooting 53.3 percent from the field and 38.2 percent from three-point range. 

Those numbers for the 7’1’’ Gonzaga product cannot quite stack up with Wembanyama’s, but Holmgren has his team in much better shape. The Thunder are 33-15 and just one game back of the Minnesota Timberwolves in the Western Conference; the Spurs are 10-38 - the third-worst record in the entire NBA.

Brandon Miller +30000

The No. 2 overall pick of the Charlotte Hornets, Brandon Miller is a productive contributor on a struggling team that is currently 10-36.

He is averaging 15.3 points, 3.9 rebounds, and 2.3 assists while shooting 43.3 percent from the field and 37.4 percent from beyond the arc.

Miller, an Alabama product, scored a career-high 29 points during a loss to the New York Knicks in mid-November and matched that output against none other than the Knicks on Monday. 

Jaime Jaquez Jr. +40000

When Jaime Jaquez Jr. was drafted 18th overall by the Miami Heat after leaving UCLA following his senior season, the consensus was that he would fit in with the organization like a glove.

That appears to be exactly the case. Jaquez is producing 13.4 points, 3.8 rebounds, and 2.6 assists in 29.8 minutes per game, while shooting 50.1 percent overall and 34.1 percent from deep.

Scoot Henderson +50000

Scoot Henderson was thought to be the only player in even remote contention with Wembanyama for the No. 1 overall pick.

To the surprise of no one, Wembanyama went first, while it was similarly unsurprising that Henderson went second.

Although the 19-year-old has not exactly been a disappointment, he is not getting much fanfare on a dreadful Portland Trail Blazers squad that owns a 15-33 record.

Henderson is contributing 12.3 points, 4.6 assists and 2.9 rebounds per contest. His shooting has not been good, with percentages of 37.4 from the field and 30.9 percent from three-point range.

Odds displayed in this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

NBA Rookie of the Year Winners by Year

2023Paolo BancheroOrlando Magic
2022Scottie BarnesToronto Raptors
2021LaMelo BallCharlotte Hornets
2020Ja MorantMemphis Grizzlies
2019Luka DončićDallas Mavericks
2018Ben SimmonsPhiladelphia 76ers
2017Malcolm BrogdonMilwaukee Bucks
2016Karl-Anthony TownsMinnesota Timberwolves
2015Andrew WigginsMinnesota Timberwolves
2014Michael Carter-WilliamsPhiladelphia 76ers
2013Damian LillardPortland Trail Blazers
2012Kyrie IrvingCleveland Cavaliers
2011Blake GriffinLos Angeles Clippers
2010Tyreke EvansSacramento Kings
2009Derrick RoseChicago Bulls
2008Kevin DurantSeattle SuperSonics
2007Brandon RoyPortland Trail Blazers
2006Chris PaulNew Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets
2005Emeka OkaforCharlotte Bobcats
2004LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers
2003Amar'e StoudemirePhoenix Suns
2002Pau GasolMemphis Grizzlies
2001Mike MillerOrlando Magic
2000Steve Francis, Elton BrandHouston Rockets, Chicago Bulls
1999Vince CarterToronto Raptors
1998Tim DuncanSan Antonio Spurs
1997Allen IversonPhiladelphia 76ers
1996Damon StoudamireToronto Raptors
1995Jason Kidd, Grant HillDallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons
1994Chris WebberGolden State Warriors
1993Shaquille O'NealOrlando Magic
1992Larry JohnsonCharlotte Hornets
1991Derrick ColemanNew Jersey Nets
1990David RobinsonSan Antonio Spurs
1989Mitch RichmondGolden State Warriors
1988Mark JacksonNew York Knicks
1987Chuck PersonIndiana Pacers
1986Patrick EwingNew York Knicks
1985Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1984Ralph SampsonHouston Rockets
1983Terry CummingsSan Diego Clippers
1982Buck WilliamsNew Jersey Nets
1981Adrian DantleyUtah Jazz
1980Larry BirdBoston Celtics
1979Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers
1978Walter DavisPhoenix Suns
1977Adrian DantleyIndiana Pacers
1976Alvan AdamsPhoenix Suns
1975Darryl DawkinsPhiladelphia 76ers
1974Ernie DiGregorioBuffalo Braves
1973Bob McAdooBuffalo Braves
1972Sidney WicksPortland Trail Blazers
1971Geoff PetriePortland Trail Blazers
1970Lew AlcindorMilwaukee Bucks
1969Wes UnseldBaltimore Bullets
1968Walt BellamyNew York Knicks
1967Rick BarrySan Francisco Warriors
1966Cazzie RussellNew York Knicks
1965Willis ReedNew York Knicks
1964Jerry LucasCincinnati Royals
1963Terry DischingerChicago Zephyrs/Baltimore Bullets
1962Walt BellamyChicago Packers
1961Oscar RobertsonCincinnati Royals
1960Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia Warriors
1959Elgin BaylorMinneapolis Lakers
1958Woody SauldsberryPhiladelphia Warriors
1957Tom HeinsohnBoston Celtics
1956Maurice StokesRochester Royals
1955Bob PettitMilwaukee Hawks
1954Ray FelixBaltimore Bullets
1953Don MeinekeFort Wayne Pistons

NBA Rookie of the Year announcement

The NBA Rookie of the Year award is typically announced after the regular season has ended and the playoffs have begun. There is no set date for the announcement.

NBA Rookie of the Year voting

A panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters votes for the NBA Rookie of the Year award. Voters select one first-place player, one second-place player and one third-place player.

Players receive five points per first-place vote, three points per second-place vote, and one point per third-place vote. Whoever receives the most points wins the award.

NBA Rookie of the Year trophy

Winners of the NBA Rookie of the Year award used to be given the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy after the former Philadelphia Warriors coach.

However, the league established the Wilt Chamberlain Trophy for the award winner before the 2022/23 season.

Chamberlain won the award in 1959/60 with the Warriors, averaging 37.6 points, 27 rebounds, and 2.3 assists in 46.4 minutes per game over 72 games.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.