Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NFL

Pro Football Hall of Fame Game: Times, TV schedule, odds for Jets vs. Browns

The NFL season kicks off with the annual Hall of Fame Game, held in Canton, Ohio the weekend of the Hall of Fame induction ceremonies.

WhatPro Football Hall of Fame Game
TeamsNew York Jets vs. Cleveland Browns
WhereTom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium, Canton, Ohio
When8 PM ET on Thursday, August 3rd
How to watchNBC
OddsJets -1.5, Browns +110 ML, O/U 33.5

When is the Hall of Fame Game?

The 2023 NFL Hall of Fame Game will take place at 8 PM ET, Thursday, August 3rd.

Where is the Hall of Fame Game?

The 2023 NFL Hall of Fame Game will be held at Tom Benson Stadium in Canton, Ohio.

Who is playing in the Hall of Fame Game?

The Cleveland Browns will play the New York Jets to kick off the NFL’s 104th season. 

The contest is part of the NFL’s Enshrinement Week. Nine new inductees will be officially enshrined on Saturday, August 5th.

Browns and Jets Meet to Launch 2023 NFL Preseason

The Cleveland Browns are making their sixth appearance in the Hall of Fame Game, but first since 1999, the year the franchise resumed operations after the previous iteration moved to Baltimore four years earlier. 

The Browns are 2-3 in the Hall of Fame Game, after defeating the Dallas Cowboys, 20-17, in their most recent appearance in 1999.

The New York Jets are making just their third appearance in the Hall of Fame Game, and first since a 41-14 victory over the Philadelphia Eagles in 1992. 

They are 1-1 all time. 

This contest marks the highly anticipated debut of Aaron Rodgers in a Jets uniform. 

Although he most likely will play only a maximum of one series, Jets fans are eager to see the quarterback expected to help the franchise end its current 12-year playoff-less streak.

History of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game

With four exceptions, the Hall of Fame Game has been played annually since 1962, the year the NFL Hall of Fame broke ground in Canton. 

There was no game in 1996 and the NFL lockout caused the cancellation of the 2011 contest. 

Poor field conditions forced the cancellation of the 2016 game and the 2020 game was not played due to COVID-19. 

The Pittsburgh Steelers (4-3) and Dallas Cowboys (3-4) have made the most appearances in the Hall of Fame Game. 

The Washington Commanders have the most wins and are a perfect 5-0. 

The Las Vegas Raiders (4-0), Chicago Bears (4-1) and Steelers all have four wins. 

All 32 franchises have played in the Hall of Fame Game. 

The Miami Dolphins (0-4), Buffalo Bills (0-4), Los Angeles Chargers (0-1-1), Jacksonville Jaguars (0-2) and Houston Texans (0-1) are the only teams without a win in the game.

The Raiders defeated the Jaguars in the 2022 Hall of Fame Game, 27-11.

Who is going into the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

Two days after the Browns-Jets contest, nine new inductees will be enshrined in the NFL Hall of Fame. 

Here is a brief profile of each inductee:

Joe Thomas, OT, Cleveland Browns: Thomas made the Pro Bowl in 10 of his 11 seasons with Cleveland, made first-team All-Pro six times and was named to the NFL’s 2010’s All-Decade team. He played 10,363 consecutive snaps, considered a league record.

Joe Klecko, DT,NT,DE, New York Jets, Indianapolis Colts: The four-time Pro Bowl selection and two-time All-Pro finished with 78 sacks and led the Jets’ famed “New York Sack Exchange” in the early 1980s. He is the only player in NFL history selected to the Pro Bowl at all three positions across the defensive line. 

Darrelle Revis, CB, New York Jets, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, New England Patriots, Kansas City Chiefs: Revis was a four-time first-team All-Pro selection who earned seven Pro Bowl nods and won a Super Bowl with the Patriots while recording 29 career interceptions. Like Thomas, Revis was named to the NFL’s 2010’s All-Decade team.

Rondé Barber, CB, Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Barber is the only player to ever record 45 (47) or more interceptions and 25 (28) or more sacks. The three-time All-Pro, five-time Pro Bowl selection and Super Bowl champion made an NFL-record 215 consecutive starts at cornerback and was named to the NFL’s 2000’s All-Decade team.

Don Coryell, Head Coach, St. Louis Cardinals, San Diego Chargers: Coryell won 114 games and five division titles while leading the Cardinals to their first 10-win season in 26 years in 1974 and guiding the Chargers to three consecutive AFC West titles (1979-81) and two AFC Championship Game appearances with his “Air Coryell” offense.

Chuck Howley, LB, Chicago Bears, Dallas Cowboys: Howley was named first-team All-Pro five straight seasons and made six straight Pro Bowls manning the outside linebacker positions for Dallas’ “Doomsday Defense.” To this day, Howley is the only Super Bowl MVP from a losing team, intercepting two passes and forcing a fumble in the Cowboys’ 16-13 Super Bowl V defeat to the Baltimore Colts. Dallas won Super Bowl VI over Miami with Howley recovering a fumble and intercepting another pass.  

Ken Riley, CB, Cincinnati Bengals: Riley recorded 65 interceptions, good for fifth all-time (tied with Hall of Famer Charles Woodson) in his 15-year career with the Bengals. He led the AFC in interceptions three times and made first-time All-Pro once in his final season in 1983.

Zach Thomas, LB, Miami Dolphins, Dallas Cowboys: Thomas was named first-team All-Pro five times and earned seven Pro Bowl nods while being named to the NFL’s 2000’s All-Decade team. Thomas, the 1996 AFC Defensive Rookie of the Year, led the Dolphins in tackles in 10 of his 12 seasons in Miami.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.