Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NBA
  2. NBA Playoffs

2024 NBA Playoffs: Start date, format, how to watch

All you need to know about the 2024 NBA Playoffs, set to begin shortly after the conclusion of the regular season on April 14, 2024.

In 2023, the Denver Nuggets won the NBA title for the first time in franchise history, the Miami Heat became the second 8-seed in history to reach the Finals, and LeBron James and Stephen Curry clashed in a playoff series for what could be the final time. 

What excitement and storylines will the 2024 NBA Playoffs bring about?

What2024 NBA Playoffs
WhenShortly after April 14, 2024 (last day of regular season)
How to watchESPN, ABC, TNT and NBA TV

What are the NBA Playoffs?

While NBA teams play an 82-game regular season, it's the Playoffs which decide who ends the campaign as the champions. 

The regular season standings are taken after the final game and used to map out the bracket, which charts the route to the NBA Finals for every contender.

How many teams make the NBA Playoffs?

The NBA Playoffs feature 16 teams, with eight teams from both the Eastern Conference and Western Conference making it into the postseason. 

Previously, the top eight teams from both sets of standings qualified for the Playoffs. However, that's been changed by the addition of the Play-In Tournament

Now teams from seventh to 10th from the east and west face off for the final two Playoff spots in each conference.

What channel can I watch the NBA Playoffs on?

The NBA Playoffs will be broadcast across ESPN, ABC, TNT and NBA TV in the United States. There will also be some first-round games shown on regional sports networks.

What is the NBA playoff picture?

The NBA Playoff picture will constantly change throughout the regular season, and won't become clear until the final weeks of the season. In 2022/23, Western Conference seeding came down to the final day of the regular season. 

How does the NBA Playoffs bracket work?

The NBA Playoff bracket is quite straightforward, with teams seeded based on the standings. 

Teams battle against the other sides in their conference across the first three rounds, before the respective conference champions meet in the NBA Finals. 

The top team in each conference face the eight-seed and the teams are paired from top against bottom through to the four/five seed matchup. 

The higher seed in each series plays at home in four of the seven games, meaning the top sides in each conference have the easiest route to the Finals in theory.

When do the NBA Playoffs start?

The 2024 playoffs will begin shortly after April 14, 2024, which is currently the final day of the 2023/24 regular season.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.