Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NFL

NFL Offensive Player of the Year: Odds, winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

Christian McCaffrey took home the Offensive Player of the Year award after the 2023 NFL season and is favored to win it again in 2024.

In addition to McCaffrey, former Offensive Player of the Year winners currently on NFL rosters include Justin Jefferson, Patrick Mahomes, Cooper Kupp, Derrick Henry, and Michael Thomas.

2024 NFL Offensive Player of the Year favorites

Christian McCaffrey


Tyreek Hill


Justin Jefferson


CeeDee Lamb


Ja'Marr Chase


Jahmyr Gibbs


Kyren Williams


Puka Nacua


Christian McCaffrey +550

The San Francisco 49ers are bringing back much of the same offense from 2023, when they made it to the NFL Championship game but fell short against the Kansas City Chiefs. Running back Christian McCaffrey was the key to the offense's success, leading all NFL players in rushing yards and rushing plus receiving touchdowns.

McCaffrey finished third in MVP voting and led the league in touches from scrimmage (339), yards from scrimmage (2,023), and rushing plus receiving touchdowns (21).

Tyreek Hill +600

Tyreek Hill's speed was a vital part of the Miami Dolphins' identity under coach Mike McDaniel in 2023. He led the league in receiving yards (1,799) and receiving touchdowns (13).

Hill had two multi-score games in 2023, and he had three games with at least 10 catches. He finished second in Offensive Player of the Year voting last campaign, and he is an eight-time Pro Bowler and five-time First Team All-Pro.

Justin Jefferson +700

Justin Jefferson will be 25 years old in his fifth NFL season in 2024. He led the league in receptions (128) and receiving yards (1,809) to win Offensive Player of the Year in 2022. While he was targeted 100 times in 10 games in 2023, he missed seven games due to injury.

This time around, Jefferson won't have the benefit of an experienced quarterback like Kirk Cousins throwing to him. It's likely he'll start off receiving passes from Sam Darnold, although 10th-overall draft pick and reigning collegiate national champion JJ McCarthy will be waiting in the wings. Time will tell how the quarterback situation affects Jefferson's production.

CeeDee Lamb +800

CeeDee Lamb has a number of things going his way ahead of the 2024 season. He caught the most passes in the league (135) in 2023, his team - the Dallas Cowboys - returns much of its roster from the previous season, and he's been healthy for just about his entire career.

Lamb also rushed for two touchdowns on 14 attempts last season, proving his ability to impact the game in a variety of ways. He and Dallas QB Dak Prescott will be unrestricted free agents after the 2024 season, so they will want to put in elite performances to maximize their next respective paydays.

Ja'Marr Chase +1200

Cincinnati Bengals receiver Ja'Marr Chase enters the 2024 season with a healthy Joe Burrow at quarterback. The team has made deep playoff runs in its two seasons with a fully healthy Burrow - 2021 and 2022 - and Chase will be hoping the team repeats that in 2024.

Chase played 16 games in 2023, catching 100 passes for 1,216 yards and a career-low seven touchdowns. He scored 13 times as a rookie and nine times in 13 games in his second season, so he will aim to improve that number this year.

Read more: NFL Honors winners, awards, voting results & more

NFL Offensive Player of the Year past winners

2023Christian McCaffreyRBSan Francisco 49ers
2022Justin JeffersonWRMinnesota Vikings
2021Cooper KuppWRLos Angeles Rams
2020Derrick HenryRBTennessee Titans
2019Michael ThomasWRNew Orleans Saints
2018Patrick MahomesQBKansas City Chiefs
2017Todd GurleyRBLos Angeles Rams
2016Matt RyanQBAtlanta Falcons
2015Cam NewtonQBCarolina Panthers
2014DeMarco MurrayRBDallas Cowboys
2013Peyton ManningQBDenver Broncos
2012Adrian PetersonRBMinnesota Vikings
2011Drew BreesQBNew Orleans Saints
2010Tom BradyQBNew England Patriots
2009Chris JohnsonRBTennessee Titans
2008Drew BreesQBNew Orleans Saints
2007Tom BradyQBNew England Patriots
2006LaDainian TomlinsonRBSan Diego Chargers
2005Shaun AlexanderRBSeattle Seahawks
2004Peyton ManningQBIndianapolis Colts
2003Jamal LewisRBBaltimore Ravens
2002Priest HolmesRBKansas City Chiefs
2001Marshall FaulkRBSt. Louis Rams
2000Marshall FaultRBSt. Louis Rams
1999Marshall FaulkRBSt. Louis Rams
1998Terrell DavisRBDenver Broncos
1997Barry SandersRBDetroit Lions
1996Terrell DavisRBDenver Broncos
1995Brett FavreQBGreen Bay Packers
1994Barry SandersRBDetroit Lions
1993Jerry RiceWRSan Francisco 49ers
1992Steve YoungQBSan Francisco 49ers
1991Thurman ThomasRBBuffalo Bills
1990Warren MoonQBHouston Oilers
1989Joe MontanaQBSan Francisco 49ers
1988Roger CraigRBSan Francisco 49ers
1987Jerry RiceWRSan Francisco 49ers
1986Eric DickersonRBLos Angeles Rams
1985Marcus AllenRBLos Angeles Raiders
1984Dan MarinoQBMiami Dolphins
1983Joe TheismannQBWashington
1982Dan FoutsQBSan Diego Chargers
1981Ken AndersonQBCincinnati Bengals
1980Earl CampbellRBHouston Oilers
1979Earl CampbellRBHouston Oilers
1978Earl CampbellRBHouston Oilers
1977Walter PaytonRBChicago Bears
1976Bert JonesQBBaltimore Colts
1975Fran TarkentonQBMinnesota Vikings
1974Ken StablerQBOakland Raiders
1973OJ SimpsonRBBuffalo Bills
1972Larry BrownRBWashington

NFL Offensive Player of the Year trophy

The NFL Offensive Player of the Year trophy features a bronze NFL logo attached to a pedestal. It is similar to the other trophies for awards announced at the NFL Honors ceremony.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year announcement

The NFL Offensive Player of the Year winner is announced at the NFL Honors, taking place on Thursday, February 8 at 9 PM ET.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year voting

A panel of 50 sports journalists affiliated with the Associated Press votes on the NFL end-of-season awards, including the Offensive Player of the Year. For Offensive Player of the Year, voters rank their first three choices which makes it easier for the AP to calculate second- and third-placed finishers in voting.

Odds displayed within this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.