Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NFL
  2. NFL Playoffs

NFL Championship MVP: Odds, past winners, trophy

The NFL Championship MVP award is one of the most respected, as it is granted to the best performer in the biggest game of the season.

Patrick Mahomes became the third player to win at least three NFL Championship MVP awards with the Kansas City Chiefs' win over the San Francisco 49ers in Nevada on February 11, 2024.

Here is all you need to know about the award, including odds, past winners, trophy information, and more.

NFL Championship MVP favorites

Odds for the next NFL Championship MVP award have not been released with the game almost a full year away.

Read more: Every non-QB to win NFL Championship MVP

NFL Championship MVP winners

2023Patrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQuarterback
2022Patrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQuarterback
2021Cooper KuppLos Angeles RamsWide receiver
2020Tom BradyTampa Bay BuccaneersQuarterback
2019Patrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQuarterback
2018Julian EdelmanNew England PatriotsWide receiver
2017Nick FolesPhiladelphia EaglesQuarterback
2016Tom BradyNew England PatriotsQuarterback
2015Von MillerDenver BroncosEdge rusher
2014Tom BradyNew England PatriotsQuarterback
2013Malcolm SmithSeattle SeahawksLinebacker
2012Joe FlaccoBaltimore RavensQuarterback
2011Eli ManningNew York GiantsQuarterback
2010Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersQuarterback
2009Drew BreesNew Orleans SaintsQuarterback
2008Santonio HolmesPittsburgh SteelersWide receiver
2007Eli ManningNew York GiantsQuarterback
2006Peyton ManningIndianapolis ColtsQuarterback
2005Hines WardPittsburgh SteelersWide receiver
2004Deion BranchNew England PatriotsWide receiver
2003Tom BradyNew England PatriotsQuarterback
2002Dexter JacksonTampa Bay BuccaneersSafety
2001Tom BradyNew England PatriotsQuarterback
2000Ray LewisBaltimore RavensLinebacker
1999Kurt WarnerSt. Louis RamsQuarterback
1998John ElwayDenver BroncosQuarterback
1997Terrell DavisDenver BroncosRunning back
1996Desmond HowardGreen Bay PackersKick/punt returner
1995Larry BrownDallas CowboysCornerback
1994Steve YoungSan Francisco 49ersQuarterback
1993Emmitt SmithDallas CowboysRunning back
1992Troy AikmanDallas CowboysQuarterback
1991Mark RypienWashington RedskinsQuarterback
1990Ottis AndersonNew York GiantsRunning back
1989Joe MontanaSan Francisco 49ersQuarterback
1988Jerry RiceSan Francisco 49ersWide receiver
1987Doug WilliamsWashington RedskinsQuarterback
1986Phil SimmsNew York GiantsQuarterback
1985Richard DentChicago BearsDefensive end
1984Joe MontanaSan Francisco 49ersQuarterback
1983Marcus AllenLos Angeles RaidersRunning back
1982John RigginsWashington RedskinsRunning back
1981Joe MontanaSan Francisco 49ersQuarterback
1980Jim PlunkettOakland RaidersQuarterback
1979Terry BradshawPittsburgh SteelersQuarterback
1978Terry BradshawPittsburgh SteelersQuarterback
1977Randy White, Harvey MartinDallas CowboysDefensive linemen
1976Fred BiletnikoffOakland RaidersWide receiver
1975Lynn SwannPittsburgh SteelersWide receiver
1974Franco HarrisPittsburgh SteelersRunning back
1973Larry CsonkaMiami DolphinsRunning back
1972Jake ScottMiami DolphinsSafety
1971Roger StaubachDallas CowboysQuarterback
1970Chuck HowleyDallas CowboysLinebacker
1969Len DawsonKansas City ChiefsQuarterback
1968Joe NamathNew York JetsQuarterback
1967Bart StarrGreen Bay PackersQuarterback
1966Bart StarrGreen Bay PackersQuarterback

Players with most NFL Championship MVP Awards

Tom Brady has the most NFL Championship MVP Awards in NFL history with five. He is followed by Joe Montana with three.

The only other players to win the award multiple times are Bart Starr, Terry Bradshaw, Eli Manning, and Patrick Mahomes. Each player to win the award multiple times is a quarterback.

NFL Championship MVP announcement

The NFL Championship MVP winner is announced minutes after the conclusion of the NFL Championship as part of the trophy presentation ceremony.

NFL Championship MVP voters

A panel of 16 football writers and broadcasters vote for the NFL Championship MVP. Since 2001, fans have been allowed to vote electronically. The media panel's votes count for 80 percent of the weighted tally while fan votes account for 20 percent.

NFL Championship MVP winners on losing team

Just one player in NFL history has won the NFL Championship MVP Award while on the losing team. Dallas Cowboys linebacker Chuck Howley earned that honor in the fifth NFL Championship game at the end of the 1970 season when Dallas lost to the Baltimore Colts 16-13 in overtime.

Howley intercepted two passes from the Colts eventual Hall of Fame QB Johnny Unitas to win the award.

NFL Championship MVP trophy

The NFL Championship trophy is shaped like a football. It is called the Pete Rozelle Trophy, named for the man who served as NFL commissioner from 1960-1989.

Odds mentioned in this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.