Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. College Sports
  2. NCAAF

NCAA Division I FCS: Dates, schedule, history & odds

Here's a look at everything you need to know about the FCS championship.

For more than three decades, since 1978, NCAA Division I football has been split into two divisions. From 1978-2006, there was Division I-A and Division I-AA. 

In 2006, the names changed. Division I-A was renamed the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Division I-AA was renamed the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).

Currently, 11 conference champions and 13 at-large schools are selected for a 24-team single elimination bracket tournament. That selection takes place after the conclusion of the regular season. 

North Dakota State has been the FCS dynasty, winning the FCS Championship Game nine times in the past 12 seasons. However, South Dakota State is the defending champion, having knocked off North Dakota State this past January. 

The article below delves into the FCS championship, when it’s played, and its history.

What2024 FCS Title Game
WhereToyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas
WhenSunday, January 7th 2024
How to watchABC

When is the 2024 FCS Championship Game?

The 2024 FCS Championship Game is slated for Sunday, January 7th, 2024 and will feature the two semifinal winners from the 24-team championship bracket.

Where is the FCS Championship Game?

The FCS Championship Game will be played in Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. It will be the 12th time the FCS Championship Game has been played in Toyota Stadium and the 15th time it will be held in Frisco.

Can I watch the FCS Championship Game?

Yes. The FCS Championship Game is tentatively scheduled to be shown nationally on ABC. This would be the fourth time in the past five seasons that the Football Championship Subdivision Championship Game will be played on national television.

How many times has the FCS Championship Game taken place?

Going back to 1978, when it was Division I-A, the FCS Championship Game has taken place 46 times.  

Who has won the FCS Championship Game on the most occasions?

North Dakota State has won the FCS Championship the most times, taking the title nine times in 12 years since 2011. The Bison lost the 2023 FCS Championship Game to border rival South Dakota State, 45-21. 

Georgia Southern and Youngstown State were the Division I-AA powerhouses through the 1980s and 1990s, with Georgia Southern winning six titles and Youngstown State winning four. 

Other schools that have won multiple Division I-AA/FCS Championship games are: Appalachian State (3), Eastern Kentucky (2), Montana (2), Marshall (2) and James Madison (2). Most of those schools have moved on to the Football Bowl Subdivision. 

Who are the favorites for the FCS Championship Game?

Although no odds are listed, last year’s FCS Championship Game participants are the clear favorites to return to Frisco in January. South Dakota State finished 14-1 and returns quarterback Matt Gronowski, the Most Outstanding Player in that FCS Championship Game win. 

North Dakota State has been to the FCS Championship Game 10 times in the past 12 years, winning it all nine times. They are not going anywhere. Other favorites include Montana State, William & Mary, Holy Cross and New Hampshire. 

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.