Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. College Sports
  2. NCAAF

NCAA Division I FBS: Dates, schedule, history & odds

College Football's royalty resisted the call for playoffs for decades. Even as Division I-A, Division II and Division III schools all went through a single elimination tournament to determine that year's champion, Division I, which is now known as the Football Bowl Subdivision, relied on regular season records and then Bowl results to determine its champion.

That all changed in 2014, when the College Football Playoff replaced the Bowl Championship Series (1998-2013) as the system used to determine the FBS champion. Currently, four schools are officially invited following the regular season and conference championship games. Two semifinal games are played in marquee bowls, followed several days later by the College Football Playoff National Championship game.

This could be the last year with the current four-team format. The College Football Playoff field is set to expand to up to 12 schools by 2026, but there is a major push to bump up that date.  

Right now, two semifinal games are rotated among six major bowl games, including the Sugar Bowl, Rose Bowl, Orange Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Cotton Bowl and Peach Bowl. These six bowl games are known as the New Year's Six and are normally played on or around that day. This year, the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl National Semifinal Games will indeed take place on January 1st, 2024.

The article below delves further into the FBS championship, when it's played, and its history.

What2024 FBS Title Game
WhereNRG Stadium in Houston, Texas
WhenMonday, January 8, 2024 at 7:30 p.m.
How to watchESPN

When is the 2024 FBS Championship Game?

The 2024 FBS Championship Game is slated for Monday, January 8th, 2024 and will feature the two semifinal winners from the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl, which will both be played on New Year's Day.

Where is the FBS Championship Game?

The FBS Championship Game will be played at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas. This is the first time the stadium, which has hosted three Super Bowls, will host the FBS Championship Game. 

Can I Watch the FBS Championship Game?

Yes. The FBS Championship Game is on ESPN which is televising all three of the FBS playoff games again this year. 

How Many Times has the FBS Championship Game Taken Place?

Although schools claim national championship seasons as far back as 1869, the current College Football Playoff has only been in place since 2014.

Southeastern Conference schools have won the FBS Championship Game six times in nine seasons, with Alabama leading the pack with three titles. Georgia has won the last two championships, and LSU has one itself.

Clemson has won two titles and Ohio State won the first FBS Championship Game in 2014.

Who has Won the FBS Championship Game on the Most Occasions?

Most historians recognize national championships from 1936 to the present. Alabama has not only won the most FBS Championship Games; it has won the most championships overall with 13.

Notre Dame, which has not won since 1988, is second with eight, followed by Oklahoma and USC with seven titles apiece, Ohio State with six, Miami (FL) and Nebraska with five, and LSU, Texas and Minnesota, who all claim four championships each.  

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.