Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NBA

NBA Three-Point Contest: Schedule, format, participants, winners, how to watch

The NBA Three-Point Contest is a competition showcasing the league's best sharpshooters, where players compete to sink as many three-pointers as possible within a limited time.

We have you covered with everything you need to know about the Three-Point Contest, which has been part of All-Star Weekend since the 1985/86 season.

NBA Three-Point Contest 2025 date

The 2025 Three-Point Contest is expected to take place on Saturday, February 15, 2025.

NBA Three-Point Contest 2025 time

The event is expected to start around 8 PM ET, after the Skills Challenge and preceding the Slam Dunk Contest.

NBA Three-Point Contest participants

The announcement timing for the contest's participants can vary slightly year to year, but it typically happens around 1-2 weeks before the NBA All-Star Weekend.

The 2024 participants were:

  • Malik Beasley (Milwaukee Bucks)
  • Jalen Brunson (New York Knicks)
  • Tyrese Haliburton (Indiana Pacers)
  • Damian Lillard (Milwaukee Bucks)
  • Lauri Markkanen (Utah Jazz)
  • Donovan Mitchell (Cleveland Cavaliers)
  • Karl-Anthony Towns (Minnesota Timberwolves)
  • Trae Young (Atlanta Hawks)

Stephen vs. Sabrina Three-Point Shootout

Stephen Curry, the most prolific three-point shooter in NBA history, faced off against WNBA single-season three-point record holder Sabrina Ionescu in the first-ever All-Star Saturday Night event featuring players from both the NBA and WNBA.

Shooting from the NBA three-point line, which is more than a foot-and-a-half further than the WNBA's three-point line, Ionescu scored 26 out of a possible 40 points, only to be bettered by Curry's 29-point showing. 

Where is the NBA Three-Point Contest?

The 2025 Three-Point Contest is expected to take place at the Chase Center in San Francisco, California, the home arena of the Golden State Warriors.

The 2024 Three-Point Contest took place at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana, home of the NFL's Indianapolis Colts. 

TV channel and how to watch the NBA Three-Point Contest

In the United States, the Three-Point Contest is shown live on TNT.

NBA Three-Point Contest format

The goal of the Three-Point Contest is to score as many points as possible in a 70 second time limit.

Racks of balls are placed at five different spots around the three-point line - one at each corner, one at the top of the arc and two in between those points - with players tasked with taking five shots at each position, starting in one corner and making their way round.

Four of the five balls in four of the racks are worth one point with the final one in each - nicknamed the money ball - worth two points.

One of the racks consists solely of money balls and each player has the choice of where they would like to position this rack worth a potential ten points, as different NBA stars prefer different shooting zones.

Since 2020, two additional sponsored balls have been added at either side of the top of the key, worth three points each, meaning the total score available is now 40 points.

All participants take part in the first round, with the top three scorers progressing to a second round - played in the same format as the first - to battle it out for the Three-Point Contest title.

The final round is played in reverse order to the first, meaning players must start from their supposed weaker side as they begin at the opposite corner spot, with an additional one minute round to be played in the event of a tie.

NBA Three-Point Contest winners

Larry Bird and Craig Hodges are the only players to have won the contest three times, whilst Peja Stojakovic, Jeff Hornacek, Mark Price, Jason Kapono, Steph Curry, and Damian Lillard have all triumphed twice.

A full list of winners can be found below:

1986Larry BirdBoston Celtics22/30
1987Larry BirdBoston Celtics16/30
1988Larry BirdBoston Celtics17/30
1989Dale EllisSeattle Supersonics19/30
1990Craig HodgesChicago Bulls19/30
1991Craig HodgesChicago Bulls17/30
1992Craig HodgesChicago Bulls16/30
1993Mark PriceCleveland Cavaliers18/30
1994Mark PriceCleveland Cavaliers24/30
1995Glen RiceMiami Heat17/30
1996Tim LeglerWashington Bullets20/30
1997Steve KerrChicago Bulls22/30
1998Jeff HornacekUtah Jazz16/30

No contest due to NBA Lockout

2000Jeff HornacekUtah Jazz13/30
2001Ray AllenMilwaukee Bucks19/30
2002Peja StojakovicSacramento Kings19/30
2003Peja StojakovicSacramento Kings22/30
2004Voshon LenardDenver Nuggets18/30
2005Quentin RichardsonPhoenix Suns19/30
2006Dirk NowitzkiDallas Mavericks18/30
2007Jason KaponoMiami Heat24/30
2008Jason KaponoToronto Raptors25/30
2009Daequan CookMiami Heat19/30
2010Paul PierceBoston Celtics20/30
2011James JonesMiami Heat20/30
2012Kevin LoveMinnesota Timberwolves17/30
2013Kyrie IrvingCleveland Cavaliers23/30
2014Marco BelinelliSan Antonio Spurs24/34
2015Steph CurryGolden State Warriors27/34
2016Klay ThompsonGolden State Warriors27/34
2017Eric GordonHouston Rockets21/34
2018Devin BookerPhoenix Suns28/34
2019Joe HarrisBrooklyn Nets26/34
2020Buddy HieldSacramento Kings27/40
2021Steph CurryGolden State Warriors28/40
2022Karl-Anthony TownsMinnesota Timberwolves29/40
2023Damian LillardPortland Trail Blazers26/40
2024Damian LillardMilwaukee Bucks26/40

NBA Three-Point Contest records

Multi-time winners

NameNumber of wins
Larry Bird3
Craig Hodges3
Peja Stojakovic2
Jeff Hornacek2
Mark Price2
Jason Kapono2
Stephen Curry2
Damian Lillard2

Highest percentage of shots made in a single contest

2008Jason Kapono83.33
2018Devin Booker82.35
1994Mark Price80
2007Jason Kapono80
2015Steph Curry79.41
2016Klay Thompson79.41
2013Kyrie Irving76.67
2019Joe Harris76.47
1986Larry Bird73.33
1997Steve Kerr73.33

Most points scored in a single contest

2022Karl-Anthony Towns29/40
2021Stephen Curry28/40
2018Devin Booker28/34
2020Buddy Hield27/40
2023Damian Lillard26/40
2019Joe Harris26/34
2008Jason Kapono25/30
2014Marco Belinelli24/34
1994Mark Price24/30
2007Jason Kapono24/30

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.