Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
Staying with one club is not something seen often these days
  1. NBA

NBA: NBA one-team stalwarts

The NBA has become one of the busiest leagues across the world of sport when it comes to players switching teams but there are still a few players who have remained loyal to one franchise for their entire careers.

Veteran forward Udonis Haslem is gearing up for his 20th year with Miami Heat, which will put him one season behind Dirk Nowitzki for the record of most seasons with one team. Stephen Curry, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bradley Beal and Damian Lillard are among those who may all finish their respective careers having represented just one team but for the purposes of this list we've focused on players who are now retired.

Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks 1998-2019

German forward Nowitzki began his career in Europe with hometown team DJK Wurzburg but in terms of his time in the NBA he only played for one team, spending 21 seasons with the Mavericks in Dallas.

Nowitzki was initially drafted by Milwaukee Bucks in 1988 with the ninth overall pick but he was then traded to the Mavs in a multi-team deal.

Nowitzki became the first European player in NBA history to win the MVP award in 2007 and is a 12-time All-Star, while he is also Dallas' all-time statistical leader in games, seasons, points, rebounds, blocks, field goals, three-point field goals and free throws. Nowitzki's greatest achievement came in 2011, when he helped the Mavs win their first, and so far, only championship and was named the Finals MVP.

Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs 1997-2016

Tim Duncan is widely regarded as one of the best, if not the best, power forwards of all time and he spent his entire 19-year NBA career playing for San Antonio Spurs.

The Spurs selected Duncan with the first overall pick in the 1997 draft and he quickly formed a strong relationship with David Robinson, who also spent his entire career with San Antonio and was the first pick in the 1987 draft, with the duo earning the nickname the 'Twin Towers'.

Duncan won the Rookie of the Month award in every month of his rookie season before picking up the Rookie of the Year award, and finished his career as a five-time champion, three-time Finals MVP, two-time MVP and 15-time All-Star.

Duncan also had a brief stint working under Gregg Popovich as assistant coach after taking the role in July 2019, before stepping down in November the following year.

Larry Bird, Boston Celtics 1979-1992

Larry Bird was selected with the sixth overall pick by Boston Celtics in the 1978 NBA Draft but didn't sign with the team immediately and instead played out his final season at Indiana State.

In his rookie season, Bird's arrival instantly transformed the Celtics into championship contenders as they finished in first place in the Eastern Conference and went on to lose in the Conference Finals, having missed out on the postseason in the previous campaign.

The forward finished his career as a three-time champion, two-time finals MVP, three-time MVP - an award he won in three consecutive years from 1984-86 - and a 12-time All-Star. Bird is also the only person in NBA history to be named Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player, Finals MVP, All-Star MVP, Coach of the Year, and Executive of the Year.

Since the end of last season, the NBA have named MVPs for the Conference Finals series and the Eastern Conference award is named as the Larry Bird Trophy.

Earvin 'Magic' Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers 1979-91 & 1996

The Western Conference MVP trophy is named after Bird's famous rival, Los Angeles Lakers' legend Earvin 'Magic' Johnson.

Arguably the greatest point guard of all-time, Johnson helped Michigan State claim the NCAA Championship - beating Bird's Indiana State in the championship game - and was then selected with the first overall pick by the Lakers.

In his first season, Johnson starred as the Lakers went on to win the championship and he became the only rookie to win the NBA Finals MVP award. Johnson finished his career as a five-time champion, three-time finals MVP, three-time MVP and 12-time All-Star.

Johnson's career came to an early end in 1991 but he did return during the 1995-96 season and has remained involved with the Lakers in various roles since his playing career ended, including a brief stint coaching the team in the 1993-94 season.

Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers 1996-2016

Kobe Bryant spent his entire 20-year career with Los Angeles Lakers after being drafted by Charlotte Hornets in 1996 and then traded to the Lakers.

Bryant was drafted straight out of high school, a practice that is no longer allowed, and only turned 18 in the August before the 1996-97 season began. The shooting guard was mostly used as a bench player in his first two seasons with the team, before firmly establishing himself as a starter and then as the franchise's cornerstone player after the departure of Shaquille O'Neal in 2004.

Bryant helped the Lakers complete a three-peat between 2000 and 2002 and won five championships in total, picking up the Finals MVP award in his final two title wins in 2009 and 2010. Bryant was named as an All-Star in 18 of his 20 seasons in the league, won the MVP award in 2008 and was a two-time scoring champion.

Latest sports betting lines

Win more with our US sports parlay bonus

Watch NBA live streaming

Latest US sports results

Head to the bet365 YouTube channel for exclusive content

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.