Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NBA

NBA Coach of the Year: Odds, winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

All you need to know about the NBA's Coach of the Year Award, including the latest odds, past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

2023/24 NBA Coach of the Year Odds

Jamahl Mosley+500
Mark Daigneault+500
Chris Finch+600
Ime Udoka+600
Rick Carlisle+900
Nick Nurse+1000
Joe Mazzulla+1100

Jamahl Mosley +500

The Orlando Magic have crushed expectations early this year en route to a 13-5 record, good for third in the Eastern Conference.

Head coach Jamahl Mosley has been a key figure in their ascent from finishing 13th in the East last year, and he's seen improvements from most of his players, namely Paolo Banchero, Goga Bitadze, Franz Wagner, and Jalen Suggs.

Mark Daigneault +500

Another head coach guiding a young team to surprising levels is Mark Daigneault of the Oklahoma City Thunder. OKC is fourth in the West with a 11-6 record.

Under Daigneault's watch, center Chet Holmgren has seen his Rookie of the Year odds (-130) grow shorter than those of Victor Wembanyama (-105). Plus, Daigneault has helped Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Jalen Williams, Isaiah Joe, and Luguentz Dort improve their games.

Click here for the full odds to win NBA Rookie of the Year.

Chris Finch +600

The Minnesota Timberwolves' 13-4 record is good for first in the Western Conference, and with much of the same roster as last year, a lot of credit has to go to head coach Chris Finch.

His most important task heading into the season was getting big men Rudy Gobert and Karl-Anthony Towns to co-exist. He's done that, as well as further boosting the skills of Anthony Edwards and turning Naz Reid into a dangerous option off the bench.

Ime Udoka +600

The Houston Rockets are very young, and after three dismal years under Stephen Silas, they jumped at the chance to hire Ime Udoka after he was cast aside by the Boston Celtics. So far, Houston is 8-8 and sitting ninth in the West, a big jump after finishing second-to-last in 2022/23.

This season, 21-year-old Rockets center Alperen Sengun has been a revelation and he has the second-shortest odds for Most Improved Player at +450. His averages of 21.0 points, 8.9 rebounds, and 5.6 assists are all career highs, and 2021 second-overall draft pick Jalen Green has become a much more efficient player.

Click here for the full odds to win the NBA Most Improved Player Award.

Rick Carlisle +900

Rick Carlisle is in his second stint as Indiana Pacers head coach, and he's leading a young team that has tons of talent and plays hard. The Pacers are currently 9-7 and sit in sixth in the East.

Eight of his players are averaging double-figures in points, and 23-year-old point guard Tyrese Haliburton is averaging 25.9 points and a league-leading 11.9 assists. The Pacers' success has allowed 2023 eighth-overall draft pick Jarace Walker to develop at his own pace without being relied on for success.

Nick Nurse +1000

Nick Nurse was quickly hired to replace Doc Rivers in Philadelphia, and the 76ers are 12-6, fourth in the East, and playing much better basketball than they ever did under Rivers. 

James Harden was traded away from the Sixers shortly after the season started, and 23-year-old guard Tyrese Maxey has picked things up with 27.0 points per game. Reigning MVP Joel Embiid is averaging 32.0 points, and the Sixers are getting to the line more often and making more free-throws than any team in the league.

Joe Mazzulla +1100

Joe Mazzulla's Boston Celtics are first in the East at 14-4, and the two huge additions - Kristaps Porzingis and Jrue Holiday - are settling in perfectly alongside Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown.

The Celtics have lost late in the playoffs in six of the past seven years, including a loss in the 2021/22 NBA Finals. Although the Coach of the Year Award is based on regular season success, Mazzulla will be measured by how far Boston goes in the playoffs.

Click here for the full odds to win the NBA Championship.

Odds displayed within this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

NBA Coach of the Year Winners 

2022-23Mike BrownSacramento Kings
2021-22Monty WilliamsPhoenix Suns
2020-21Tom ThibodeauNew York Knicks
2019-20Nick NurseToronto Raptors
2018-19Mike BudenholzerMilwaukee Bucks
2017-18Dwane CaseyToronto Raptors
2016-17Mike D'AntoniHouston Rockets
2015-16Steve KerrGolden State Warriors
2014-15Mike BudenholzerAtlanta Hawks
2013-14Gregg PopovichSan Antonio Spurs
2012-13George KarlDenver Nuggets
2011-12Gregg PopovichSan Antonio Spurs
2010-11Tom ThibodeauChicago Bulls
2009-10Scott BrooksOklahoma City Thunder
2008-09Mike BrownCleveland Cavaliers
2007-08Byron ScottNew Orleans Hornets
2006-07Sam MitchellToronto Raptors
2005-06Avery JohnsonDallas Mavericks
2004-05Mike D'AntoniPhoenix Suns
2003-04Hubie BrownMemphis Grizzlies
2002-03Gregg PopovichSan Antonio Spurs
2001-02Rick CarlisleDetroit Pistons
2000-01Larry BrownPhiladelphia 76ers
1999-00Doc RiversOrlando Magic
1998-99Mike DunleavyPortland Trail Blazers
1997-98Larry BirdIndiana Pacers
1996-97Pat RileyMiami Heat
1995-96Phil JacksonChicago Bulls
1994-95Del HarrisLos Angeles Lakers
1993-94Lenny WilkensAtlanta Hawks
1992-93Pat RileyNew York Knicks
1991-92Don NelsonGolden State Warriors
1990-91Don ChaneyHouston Rockets
1989-90Pat RileyLos Angeles Lakers
1988-89Cotton FitzsimmonsPhoenix Suns
1987-88Doug MoeDenver Nuggets
1986-87Mike SchulerPortland Trail Blazers
1985-86Mike FratelloAtlanta Hawks
1984-85Don NelsonMilwaukee Bucks
1983-84Frank LaydenUtah Jazz
1982-83Don NelsonMilwaukee Bucks
1981-82Gene ShueWashington Bullets
1980-81Jack McKinneyIndiana Pacers
1979-80Bill FitchBoston Celtics
1978-79Cotton FitzsimmonsKansas City Kings
1977-78Hubie BrownAtlanta Hawks
1976-77Tom NissalkeHouston Rockets
1975-76Bill FitchCleveland Cavaliers
1974-75Phil JohnsonKansas City-Omaha Kings
1973-74Ray ScottDetroit Pistons
1972-73Tom HeinsohnBoston Celtics
1971-72Bill SharmanLos Angeles Lakers
1970-71Dick MottaChicago Bulls
1969-70Red HolzmanNew York Knicks
1968-69Gene ShueBaltimore Bullets
1967-68Richie GuerinSt. Louis Hawks
1966-67Red KerrChicago Bulls
1965-66Dolph SchayesPhiladelphia 76ers
1964-65Red AuerbachBoston Celtics
1963-64Alex HannumSan Francisco Warriors
1962-63Harry GallatinSt. Louis Hawks

When is NBA Coach of the Year announced?

The NBA Coach of the Year award is typically announced during the NBA Playoffs. In 2023, the announcement that Sacramento Kings coach Mike Brown won the award came on April 19. 

Who votes on the NBA Coach of the Year?

The award is voted on by a panel of sportswriters from the United States and Canada. Each panel member places a vote for their first, second, and third place selections. A first place vote is worth five points, second place worth three, and third place worth one. The coach who finishes with the highest point total is the winner of the award.

NBA Coach of the Year trophy 

The NBA Coach of the Year trophy is known as the Red Auerbach Trophy. It is named after the legendary Boston Celtics coach who won nine NBA championships from 1956 to 1966.

The trophy features a bronze sculpture of Auerbach sitting on a bench with a game plan in one hand and a cigar in the other.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.