Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NFL

2024 NFL MVP: Odds, winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

We covered all you need to know about the NFL's Most Valuable Player Award, including the latest odds, past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson won the award in 2023, his second time earning it after doing so in 2019.

2023 NFL MVP favorites

Patrick Mahomes +650

Fresh off winning his third NFL Championship and his third NFL Championship MVP award, Patrick Mahomes is riding high. He had probably the worst supporting cast on offense in his seven NFL seasons, and he still led the team that led the league in dropped passes to win it all.

Mahomes always stands a chance at winning any award, and if the Kansas City Chiefs add some more offensive firepower to pair with tight end Travis Kelce and running back Isiah Pacheco, he'll have a great chance at winning a third regular season MVP award.

Josh Allen +700

Josh Allen is the definition of a gunslinger. He has thrown at least 10 interceptions in five of his six seasons as starting quarterback for the Buffalo Bills, but the guy has a cannon for an arm and comes up big in the clutch.

Allen has thrown for 4,000 yards or more in each of the past four seasons, and his lowest single-season passing touchdown total in that span is this past campaign's tally of 29. He compensated for that with a career-high 15 rushing touchdowns in 2023.

Joe Burrow +900

Joe Burrow has already completed one comeback from a major injury, winning the 2021 Comeback Player of the Year Award after suffering torn knee ligaments in Week 11 of the 2020 season. In 2024, he'll be coming back from an injury to his throwing wrist, suffered in Week 11 of the 2023 season.

Burrow played at an elite level in his two fully healthy seasons. He went 10-6 as a starter in 2021, posting a 70.4 completion percentage, 4,611 passing yards, 34 TDs, and 14 interceptions. In 2022, he went 12-4 as a starter with a 68.3 completion percentage, 4,475 passing yards, 35 TDs, and 12 INTs.

Lamar Jackson +1000

Few teams demand more from their quarterback than the Baltimore Ravens demand from Lamar Jackson, and his workload might increase if the Ravens' front office doesn't replace offensive players set for free agency including Odell Beckham Jr., Gus Edwards, Nelson Agholor, JK Dobbins, and Kevin Zeitler.

Still, Jackson will have Zay Flowers, Mark Andrews, and Isaiah Likely to throw to, and the reigning MVP is a better runner with the ball than most players in the NFL. Plus, a player repeating as MVP is not unheard of: Aaron Rodgers did just that in 2020 and 2021.

Justin Herbert +1200

The Los Angeles Chargers hit the jackpot in hiring Jim Harbaugh from reigning College Football National Champions Michigan, and one of Harbaugh's top priorities will be getting the best out of talented quarterback Justin Herbert.

Herbert missed the last four games of the 2023 season with an injury to his throwing hand. The Chargers weren't great before that, with Herbert guiding them to a 5-8 record (completing 65.1 percent of his passes for 3,134 yards, 20 TDs, and seven INTs) before the injury. The team does not have much cap flexibility this offseason, but it has an experienced - and highly-paid - group of offensive skill players who can still put up numbers if they stay healthy.

Read more: NFL Honors winners, awards, voting results & more

NFL MVP Winners by Year

2023Lamar JacksonQBBaltimore Ravens
2022Patrick MahomesQBKansas City Chiefs
2021Aaron RodgersQBGreen Bay Packers
2020Aaron RodgersQBGreen Bay Packers
2019Lamar JacksonQBBaltimore Ravens
2018Patrick MahomesQBKansas City Chiefs
2017Tom BradyQBNew England Patriots
2016Matt RyanQBAtlanta Falcons
2015Cam NewtonQBCarolina Panthers
2014Aaron RodgersQBGreen Bay Packers
2013Peyton ManningQBDenver Broncos
2012Adrian PetersonRBMinnesota Vikings
2011Aaron RodgersQBGreen Bay Packers
2010Tom BradyQBNew England Patriots
2009Peyton ManningQBIndianapolis Colts
2008Peyton ManningQBIndianapolis Colts
2007Tom BradyQBNew England Patriots
2006LaDainian TomlinsonRBSan Diego Chargers
2005Shaun AlexanderRBSeattle Seahawks
2004Peyton ManningQBIndianapolis Colts
2003Steve McNairQBTennessee Titans
2003Peyton ManningQBIndianapolis Colts
2002Rich GannonQBOakland Raiders
2001Kurt WarnerQBSt. Louis Rams
2000Marshall FaulkRBSt. Louis Rams
1999Kurt WarnerQBSt. Louis Rams
1998Terrell DavisRBDenver Broncos
1997Barry SandersRBDetroit Lions
1997Brett FavreQBGreen Bay Packers
1996Brett FavreQBGreen Bay Packers
1995Brett FavreQBGreen Bay Packers
1994Steve YoungQBSan Francisco 49ers
1993Emmitt SmithRBDallas Cowboys
1992Steve YoungQBSan Francisco 49ers
1991Thurman ThomasRBBuffalo Bills
1990Joe MontanaQBSan Francisco 49ers
1989Joe MontanaQBSan Francisco 49ers
1988Boomer EsiasonQBCincinnati Bengals
1987John ElwayQBDenver Broncos
1986Lawrence TaylorROLBNew York Giants
1985Marcus AllenRBLos Angeles Raiders
1984Dan MarinoQBMiami Dolphins
1983Joe TheismannQBWashington Redskins
1982Mark MoseleyKWashington Redskins
1981Ken AndersonQBCincinnati Bengals
1980Brian SipeQBCleveland Browns
1979Earl CampbellRBHouston Oilers
1978Terry BradshawQBPittsburgh Steelers
1977Walter PaytonRBChicago Bears
1976Bert JonesQBBaltimore Colts
1975Fran TarkentonQBMinnesota Vikings
1974Ken StablerQBOakland Raiders
1973O.J. SimpsonRBBuffalo Bills
1972Larry BrownRBWashington Redskins
1971Alan PageRDTMinnesota Vikings
1970John BrodieQBSan Francisco 49ers
1969Roman GabrielQBLos Angeles Rams
1968Earl MorrallQBBaltimore Colts
1967Johnny UnitasQBBaltimore Colts
1966Bart StarrQBGreen Bay Packers
1965Jim BrownFBCleveland Browns
1964Johnny UnitasQBBaltimore Colts
1963Y.A. TittleQBNew York Giants
1962Jim TaylorFBGreen Bay Packers
1961Paul HornungHBGreen Bay Packers
1959Johnny UnitasQBBaltimore Colts
1958Jim BrownFBCleveland Browns
1957Jim BrownFBCleveland Browns

NFL MVP trophy

The NFL Most Valuable Player trophy features a bronze NFL logo attached to a pedestal. It is similar to the other trophies for awards announced at the NFL Honors ceremony. 

From 1938 to 1946, the NFL MVP was awarded with the Carr Trophy, named after commissioner Joseph Carr. 

NFL MVP announcement

The NFL MVP is announced at the NFL Honors show. The 2024 edition was on Thursday, February 8, beginning at 9 PM ET. Fans can watch it on CBS, NFL Network, or Paramount+.

NFL MVP voting

While the NFL itself recognizes the MVP award, the actual voting and decision-making for the most prestigious NFL MVP award is done by 50 media members affiliated with the Associated Press (AP). 

The voting panel consists of 50 sportswriters across the NFL. Prior to 2022, each voter cast one vote for the award winner. Since 2022, each voter ranks their top five choices for MVP, with points assigned based on ranking: 10 points for 1st, 5 for 2nd, 3 for 3rd, 2 for 4th, and 1 for 5th. This allows for more nuanced consideration of multiple candidates.

Other organizations sometimes present their own "MVP" awards, such as the Pro Football Writers Association, but the Associated Press award is widely considered the most prestigious and official NFL MVP recognition.

Odds displayed within this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.