Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NFL

Which teams have won the most NFL Championships?

Going back to the very first NFL Championship in January 1967, the showpiece event of the American Football calendar has captivated the nation and the wider sporting world.

Here’s a look at the teams to have won the most NFL Championships and how they went about it.

New England Patriots - 6

One of the great NFL dynasties, the New England Patriots were to enjoy a tremendous period of success that would yield six NFL Championship titles between the 2001 and 2018 seasons.

Led by the duo of head coach Bill Belichick and quarterback Tom Brady, the Pats claimed their first NFL Championship success at the third time of asking after defeats in both 1985 and 1986.

Beating the St Louis Rams 20-17 at NFL Championship XXXVI, the victory would see the dawn of a successful age for the Patriots.

New England would go on to win the NFL Championship title in 2004, 2005, 2015 and 2017, before their last title in 2019 with a 13-3 victory over the Los Angeles Rams in Atlanta.

It was not all roses for the Patriots in this time and New England did have their fair share of NFL Championship heartbreak, losing in the showpiece event in 2008, 2012 and 2018.

Undeniably, the Pats team of that era remain one of the greatest the sport has witnessed.

Pittsburgh Steelers - 6

Along with the Pats, only one other team has managed six NFL Championship wins, and that accolade belongs to the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Another iconic side, the Steelers team of the 1970s was one of the most successful in the game’s history.

Winning their first title in 1975 with a 16-6 victory over the Minnesota Vikings, the Steelers would go on to claim back-to-back titles with a 21-17 win against the Dallas Cowboys.

Pittsburgh would then land back-to-back titles again in 1979 and 1980, beating the Cowboys again and overcoming the LA Rams.

The Cowboys would get their revenge in 1996 with a NFL Championship win over the Steelers, before Pittsburgh went on to win the title in 2006 and 2009 under head coaches Bill Cowher and Mike Tomlin respectively.

Dallas Cowboys - 5

Just in behind the Steelers and Patriots, the Dallas Cowboys franchise has five NFL Championship titles to their name.

Another team that would enjoy success in the 1970s, the Cowboys won their first title back in 1972 with victory over the Miami Dolphins.

While the Cowboys did lose NFL Championships in 1971, 1976, and 1979, they did land a second title in 1978 with a 27-10 victory over the Denver Broncos. 

The 1990s would provide the next period of Cowboys’ success, as Dallas twice beat the Buffalo Bills to win the title in 1993 and 1994.

Dallas' last NFL Championship title would come in 1996, as the Cowboys overcame the Steelers 27-17 at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Arizona.

San Francisco 49ers - 4

The 1980s belonged to the San Francisco 49ers, who would win four titles between 1981 and 1990.

Quarterback Joe Montana was the superstar in San Francisco and he helped deliver a first NFL Championship title in the 1981/82 season with a 26-21 win over the Cincinnati Bengals.

The 49ers went on to win the NFL Championship in 1985 with a win over the Dolphins, before taking down the Bengals again in 1988.

A NFL Championship success over the Broncos in 1990, the 49ers last title would come in 1995 with success over the San Diego Chargers.

New York Giants - 4

A side to win the title in four of their five visits to the NFL Championship, the New York Giants have enjoyed plenty of success in the biggest game of them all.

Claiming a first title in 1987 with victory over the Broncos, the Giants then claimed the title in 1991 by defeating the Buffalo Bills.

New York suffered defeat in 2001 against the Baltimore Ravens but responded in 2008 with a victory over the great Patriots side under Belichick and Brady.

The Giant's last NFL Championship success would come in 2012, as New York beat that star-studded Patriots side once again, with a 21-17 win in Indianapolis.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.