Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NBA

NBA Most Improved Player Race: Odds, winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

We cover all you need to know about the NBA's Most Improved Player Award, including the latest odds, past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

2023/24 NBA Most Improved Player Odds

Tyrese Maxey-120
Scottie Barnes+550
Alperen Sengun+600
Cameron Thomas+1400
Cade Cunningham+2800
Tyrese Haliburton+2800

Tyrese Maxey -120

Tyrese Maxey has made considerable improvements in each of his three full NBA seasons so far. With James Harden finally departing the Philadelphia 76ers, the keys to the offense are in Maxey's hands.

Maxey scored 20.3 points per game last season while shooting 43.4 percent from beyond the arc. Through 17 games in 2023/24, Maxey is averaging 26.6 points per game with a career-high 6.9 assists and a 40.3 three-point percentage.

Scottie Barnes +550

There has been plenty of change in the Toronto Raptors organization in the 2023 offseason as they hired a new head coach and saw their best player, Fred VanVleet, leave. Someone needed to step up, and so far that has been 2021/22 Rookie of the Year Scottie Barnes.

Through 18 games in the 2023/24 season, Barnes is averaging 18.9 points, 9.2 rebounds, and 5.6 assists, all of which are career highs. He's also shooting a career-high 38 percent from three.

Alperen Sengun +600

A player who has become a favorite of NBA fanatics due to his steady improvement and ever-expanding skillset, Alperen Sengun of the Houston Rockets might finally put himself over the top and become a star this year. That's as good a reason as any for a player to be considered for Most Improved.

In 15 games this season, Sengun is averaging career highs in points (20.9) and assists (5.7) per game, in addition to pulling down 9.1 rebounds and shooting a career-high 56.3 percent from the field.

Cameron Thomas +1400

Cameron Thomas has been injured since early November, but in the eight games he has played this season, he has dropped point totals of: 36, 30, 33, 13, 17, 27, 45, and 14.

That's pretty good for a guy who averaged 10.6 points per game last season. If the Nets improve after he returns from his ankle injury, his odds may shrink.

Cade Cunningham +2800

Some fans may question if a former first-overall pick should be eligible for Most Improved Player given the expectations that come with the top selection, but Detroit Pistons guard Cade Cunningham has improved greatly since entering the league in 2021/22.

Cunningham played just 12 games last year before suffering a stress fracture in his shin. In 17 games this season, he is averaging 22.2 points and 7.1 assists with a 32.7 three-point percentage, all of which are career highs.

Odds displayed within this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

NBA Most Improved Player Winners by Year

2023Lauri MarkkanenUtah Jazz
2022Ja MorantMemphis Grizzlies
2021Julius RandleNew York Knicks
2020Brandon IngramNew Orleans Pelicans
2019Pascal SiakamToronto Raptors
2018Victor OladipoIndiana Pacers
2017Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks
2016CJ McCollumPortland Trail Blazers
2015Jimmy ButlerChicago Bulls
2014Goran DragicPhoenix Suns
2013Paul GeorgeIndiana Pacers
2012Ryan AndersonOrlando Magic
2011Kevin LoveMinnesota Timberwolves
2010Aaron BrooksHouston Rockets
2009Danny GrangerIndiana Pacers
2008Hedo TurkogluOrlando Magic
2007Monta EllisGolden State Warriors
2006Boris DiawPhoenix Suns
2005Bobby SimmonsLos Angeles Clippers
2004Zach RandolphPortland Trail Blazers
2003Gilbert ArenasGolden State Warriors
2002Jermaine O'NealIndiana Pacers
2001Tracy McGradyOrlando Magic
2000Jalen RoseIndiana Pacers
1999Darrell ArmstrongOrlando Magic
1998Alan HendersonAtlanta Hawks
1997Isaac AustinMiami Heat
1996Gheorge MuresanWashington Bullets
1995Dana BarrosPhiladelphia 76ers
1994Don MacLeanWashington Bullets
1993Mahmoud Abdul-RaufDenver Nuggets
1992Pervis EllisonWashington Bullets
1991Scott SkilesOrlando Magic
1990Rony SeikalyMiami Heat
1989Kevin JohnsonPhoenix Suns
1988Kevin DuckworthPortland Trail Blazers
1987Dale EllisSeattle SuperSonics
1986Alvin RobertsonSan Antonio Spurs

NBA Most Improved Player announcement

Like most NBA Awards, the Most Improved Player Award is announced after the regular season ends and during the playoffs. The 2023 edition was announced on April 24.

NBA Most Improved Player voting

The NBA Most Improved Player Award is voted on by a committee of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters. Voters have a first-place vote worth five points, a second-place vote worth three points, and a third-place vote worth one point. The player with the most points wins the award.

NBA Most Improved Player trophy

The George Mikan Trophy, awarded to the Most Improved Player, was established before the 2022/23 season. Mikan was a legendary center for the Minneapolis Lakers - before they moved to Los Angeles - and his name lives on through the Mikan Drill, which players use to improve their game.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.