Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Soccer
  2. MLS

MLS All-Star Game: Schedule, teams, history & how to watch

The MLS All-Star Game has become a highlight of the North American soccer calendar and European teams have often used it as part of their pre-season preparations to warm up for the new campaign.

This year, Premier League runners-up Arsenal will face the best of the best from the MLS and it promises to be an intriguing encounter in Washington DC.

WhatMLS All-Stars vs. Arsenal
WhereAudi Field, Washington, DC
When8:30 PM ET on Wednesday, July 19th, 2023 
How to watchApple TV, MLS Season Pass and TSN

When is the MLS All-Star Game?

This season's MLS All-Star Game is due to take place on the evening of Wednesday, July 19th.

Where is the MLS All-Star Game?

The MLS All-Star Game is due to take place at Audi Field in Washington, the home stadium of DC United in the MLS and Washington Spirit in the National Women's Soccer League.

The stadium has also held lacrosse and American Football games and has hosted matches for both the United States men's and women's teams.

Who is playing in the MLS All-Star Game?

Visitors Arsenal will bring a roster that includes Premier League stars like Bukayo Saka, Gabriel Jesus and Martin Odegaard.

The MLS roster includes 28 players, as listed below.

GOALKEEPERS: Roman Bürki (St. Louis CITY SC / voted in), Tyler Miller (D.C. United / coach's selection), Djordje Petrović (New England Revolution / coach's selection)

DEFENDERS: Álvaro Barreal (FC Cincinnati / voted in), Jon Gallagher (Austin FC / voted in), Ryan Hollingshead (LAFC / coach's selection), Matt Miazga (FC Cincinnati / voted in), Tim Parker (St. Louis City SC / coach's selection), John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls / coach's selection), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC / voted in)

MIDFIELDERS: Luciano Acosta (FC Cincinnati / voted in), Thiago Almada (Atlanta United / voted in), Mathieu Choinière (CF Montréal / commissioner's selection), Héctor Herrera (Houston Dynamo FC / coach's selection), José Martinez (Philadelphia Union / coach's selection), Aidan Morris (Columbus Crew / voted in), Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC / voted in), Riqui Puig (LA Galaxy / coach's selection), Lucas Zelarayán (Columbus Crew / coach's selection)

FORWARDS: Christian Benteke (D.C. United / coach's selection), Dénis Bouanga (LAFC / voted in), Cristian Espinoza (San Jose Earthquakes / coach's selection), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas / voted in), Giorgos Giakoumakis (Atlanta United / coach's selection), Kei Kamara (Chicago Fire FC / commissioner's selection), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC / voted in)

How does the MLS All-Star Game work?

The MLS All-Star Game has followed a number of different formats throughout its history. 

From 1996-2001, the game was a battle between MLS East and MLS West, with the exception of 1998, which was MLS USA v MLS World.

That changed in 2002 and 2003 to a matchup between MLS All-Stars and guests, the United States national team in the first year and Guadalajara in the second.

2004 saw the return of the MLS East v MLS West games before a new era began in 2005 with the MLS All-Stars playing European teams, starting with a game against Fulham.

The MLS All-Stars then played a variety of teams including Manchester United, Bayern Munich, Juventus and Real Madrid over the years before two games in 2021 and 2022 that saw the MLS All-Stars face their Mexican counterparts, the Liga MX All-Stars.

This year sees a return to the format of the MLS All-Star team facing a European side, this time Arsenal.

Unlimited substitutions are available for the match, which will be decided by a penalty shoot-out if level at 90 minutes, with no extra time planned.

How are the players picked for the MLS All-Star Game?

Former Manchester United player and current DC United manager Wayne Rooney will be the head coach of the MLS All-Star team.

12 of the places on the squad were decided via online voting by fans, media personnel and MLS players, a further 12 slots were selected by Rooney and two were picked by MLS commissioner Don Garber.

There were rumours than new Inter Miami signing Lionel Messi would be available for selection but that will not be the case.

Goalkeeper Tyler Miller and striker Christian Benteke are the sole representatives of the home team from Rooney's DC United.

Can I watch the MLS All-Star Game?

The MLS All-Star Game will be available to watch on Apple TV and TSN and also accessible to stream on MLS Seasons Pass.

How many times has the MLS All-Star Game taken place?

The MLS All-Star Game has taken place on 26 previous occasions.

Who has won the MLS All-Star Game on the most occasions?

Perhaps unsurprisingly given the range of their opponents, the MLS All-Stars have won the MLS All-Star Game on the most occasions with 11 victories.

However Arsenal ran out 2-1 winners in the 2016 MLS All-Star Game, their only appearance in the showpiece event. Joel Campbell and Chuba Akpom netted for the Gunners, with Didier Drogba scoring for the MLS side.

Who won last year's MLS All-Star Game?

Last year's MLS All-Star Game took place at Allianz Field in Minnesota, with the MLS All-Stars running out 2-1 winners over the Liga MX All-Stars.

Carlos Vela and Raul Ruidiaz netted for the American side before Kevin Alvarez scored a late consolation for the Mexican side.

Who are the favourites for the MLS All-Star Game?

With the MLS season yet to break up for its All-Star Game, there are currently no odds available for the match between the MLS All-Stars and Arsenal.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.