Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB

MLB Rookie of the Year: Winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

All you need to know about MLB's Rookie of the Year Award, including past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

MLB Rookie of the Year Winners

YearAmerican League winnerNational League winner
2023Gunnar HendersonCorbin Carroll
2022Julio RodriguezMichael Harris II
2021Randy ArozarenaJonathan India
2020Kyle LewisDevin Williams
2019Yordan AlvarezPete Alonso
2018Shohei OhtaniRonald Acuna Jr.
2017Aaron JudgeCody Bellinger
2016Michael FulmerCorey Seager
2015Carlos CorreaKris Bryant
2014Jose AbreuJacob deGrom
2013Wil MyersJose Fernandez
2012Mike TroutBryce Harper
2011Jeremy HellicksonCraig Kimbrel
2010Naftali FelizBuster Posey
2009Andrew BaileyChris Coghlan
2008Evan LongoriaGeovany Soto
2007Dustin PedroiaRyan Braun
2006Justin VerlanderHanley Ramirez
2005Houston StreetRyan howard
2004Bobby CrosbyJason Bay
2003Angel BerroaDontrelle Willis
2002Eric HinskeJason Jennings
2001Ichiro SuzukiAlbert Pujols
2000Kazuhiro SasakiRafael Furcal
1999Carlos BeltranScott Williamson
1998Ben GrieveKerry Wood
1997Nomar GarciaparraScott Rolen
1996Derek JeterTodd Hollandsworth
1995Marty CordovaHideo Nomo
1994Bob HamelinRaul Mondesi
1993Tim SalmonMike Piazza
1992Pat ListachEric Karros
1991Chuck KnoblauchJeff Bagwell
1990Sandy Alomar Jr.David Justice
1989Gregg OlsonJerome Walton
1988Walt WeissChris Sabo
1987Mark McGqireBenito Santiago
1986Jose CansecoTodd Worrell
1985Ozzie GuillenVince Coleman
1984Alvin DavisDwight Gooden
1983Ron KittleDarryl Strawberry
1982Cal Ripken Jr.Steve Sax
1981Dave RighettiFernando Valenzuela
1980Joe CharboneauSteve Howe
1979Alfredo GriffinBob Horner
1978Lou WhitakerAndre Dawson
1977Eddie MurrayPat Zachry
1976Mark FidrychButch Metzger
1975Fred LynnJohn Montefusco
1974Mike HargroveBake McBride
1973Al BumbryGary Matthews
1972Carlton FiskJon Matlack
1971Chris ChamblissEarl Williams
1970Thurman MunsonCarl Morton
1969Lou PiniellaTed Sizemore
1968Stan BahnsenJohnny Bench
1967Rod CarewTom Seaver
1966Tommie AgeeTommy Helms
1965Curt BlefaryJim Lefebvre
1964Tony OlivaDick Allen
1963Gary PetersPete Rose
1962Tom TreshKen Hubbs
1961Don SchwallBilly Williams
1960Ron HansenFrank Howard
1959Bob AllisonWillie McCovey
1958Albie PearsonOrlando Cepeda
1957Tony KubekJack Sanford
1956Luis AparicioFrank Robinson
1955Herb ScoreBill Virdon
1954Bob GrimWally Moon
1953Harvey KuennJim Gilliam
1952Harry ByrdJoe Black
1951Gil McDougaldWillie Mays
1950Walt DropooSam Jethroe
1949Roy SieversDon Newcombe
1948Alvin Dark*Alvin Dark*
1947Jackie Robinson*Jackie Robinson*

* = one award for both leagues

When are MLB Rookie of the Year Awards announced?

The AL and NL Rookie of the Year Awards are announced around two weeks after the World Series concludes as part of MLB's awards season. In 2023, the winners were announced on Monday, Nov. 13.

Who votes on the MLB Rookie of the Year?

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) votes on the winners of the Rookie of the Year Award. Two writers from every MLB city get to vote, and votes must be submitted before the postseason begins. Voters get a first-, second-, and third-place vote, and are worth five, three, and one point respectively. The player with the most points, regardless of the number of first-place votes, wins the award.

MLB Rookie of the Year trophy

The MLB Rookie of the Year trophy is called the Jackie Robinson Award, named after the first-ever Rookie of the Year winner. The award is a plaque featuring an image of Jackie Robinson successfully stealing home plate.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.