Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB

MLB MVP Award: Winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

All you need to know about MLB's MVP Award, including past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

MLB MVP Award Winners

YearAmerican League winnerNational League winner
2023Shohei OhtaniRonald Acuna Jr.
2022Aaron JudgePaul Goldschmidt
2021Shohei OhtaniBryce Harper
2020Jose AbreuFreddie Freeman
2019Mike TroutCody Bellinger
2018Mookie BettsChristian Yelich
2017Jose AltuveGiancarlo Stanton
2016Mike TroutKris Bryant
2015Josh DonaldsonBryce Harper
2014Mike TroutClayton Kershaw
2013Miguel CabreraAndrew McCutchen
2012Miguel CabreraBuster Posey
2011Justin VerlanderRyan Braun
2010Josh HamiltonJoey Votto
2009Joe MauerAlbert Pujols
2008Dustin PedroiaAlbert Pujols
2007Alex RodriguezJimmy Rollins
2006Justin MorneauRyan Howard
2005Alex RodriguezAlbert Pujols
2004Vladimir GuerreroBarry Bonds
2003Alex RodriguezBarry Bonds
2002Miguel TejadaBarry Bonds
2001Ichiro SuzukiBarry Bonds
2000Jason GiambiJeff Kent
1999Ivan RodriguezChipper Jones
1998Juan GonzalezSammy Sosa
1997Ken Griffey Jr.Larry Walker
1996Juan GonzalezKen Caminiti
1995Mo VaughnBarry Larkin
1994Frank ThomasJeff Bagwell
1993Frank ThomasBarry Bonds
1992Dennis EckersleyBarry Bonds
1991Cal Ripken Jr.Terry Pendleton
1990Rickey HendersonBarry Bonds
1989Robin YountKevin Mitchell
1988Jose CansecoKirk Gibson
1987George BellAndre Dawson
1986Roger ClemensMike Schmidt
1985Don MattinglyWillie McGee
1984Willie HernandezRyne Sandberg
1983Cal Ripken Jr.Dale Murphy
1982Robin YountDale Murphy
1981Rollie FingersMike Schmidt
1980George BrettMike Schmidt
1979Don BaylorKeith Hernandez & Willie Stargell
1978Jim RiceDave Parker
1977Rod CarewGeorge Foster
1976Thurman MunsonJoe Morgan
1975Fred LynnJoe Morgan
1974Jeff BurroughsSteve Garvey
1973Reggie JacksonPete Rose
1972Dick AllenJohnny Bench
1971Vida BlueJoe Torre
1970Boog PowellJohnny Bench
1969Harmon KillebrewWillie McCovey
1968Denny McLainBob Gibson
1967Carl YastrzemskiOrlando Cepeda
1966Frank RobinsonRoberto Clemente
1965Zoilo VersallesWillie Mays
1964Brooks RobinsonKen Boyer
1963Elston HowardSandy Koufax
1962Mickey MantleMaury Wills
1961Roger MarisFrank Robinson
1960Roger MarisDick Groat
1959Nellie FoxErnie Banks
1958Jackie JensenErnie Banks
1957Mickey MantleHank Aaron
1956Mickey MantleDon Newcombe
1955Yogi BerraRoy Campanella
1954Yogi BerraWillie Mays
1953Al RosenRoy Campanella
1952Bobby ShantzHank Sauer
1951Yogi BerraRoy Campanella
1950Phil RizzutoJim Konstanty
1949Ted WilliamsJackie Robinson
1948Lou BoudreauStan Musial
1947Joe DiMaggioBob Elliott
1946Ted WilliamsStan Musial
1945Hal NewhouserPhil Cavarretta
1944Hal NewhouserMarty Marion
1943Spud ChandlerStan Musial
1942Joe GordonMort Cooper
1941Joe DiMaggioDolph Camilli
1940Hank GreenbergFrank McCormick
1939Joe DiMaggioBucky Walters
1938Jimmie FoxxErnie Lombardi
1937Charlie GehringerJoe Medwick
1936Lou GehrigCarl Hubbell
1935Hank GreenbergGabby Hartnett
1934Mickey CochraneDizzy Dean
1933Jimmie FoxxCarl Hubbell
1932Jimmie FoxxChuck Klein
1931Lefty GroveFrankie Frisch

When are MLB MVP Awards announced?

The MVP Award winners are announced around two weeks after the World Series concludes as part of MLB's awards season. In 2023. the winners were announced on Nov. 16.

Who votes on the MLB MVP Award?

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) votes on the winners of the MVP Award. Two writers in each MLB city get to vote, and votes must be submitted before the postseason begins. Voters get first- through 10th-place votes worth 14 points for first place, nine for second, eight for third, seven for fourth, six for fifth, five for sixth, fourth for seventh, three for eighth, two for ninth and one for 10th. The player with the most points, regardless of the number of first-place votes, wins the award.

MLB MVP Award trophy

Winners of the MVP Award receive a plaque with a black background and a gold baseball diamond with the winner's name and team in a gold rectangle within the baseball diamond. The league they won the award in - either the American League or National League - is across the top of the plaque, while "Most Valuable Player" is across the bottom of the plaque.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.